2014-15 Remembrance Scholars Selected

  • Alexandra Figueroa Miranda of San Juan, P.R., an anthropology and international relations major in the College of Arts and Sciences and the Maxwell School.

Syracuse University’s Remembrance Scholar Committee has chosen the 35 students who will be the 2014-15 Remembrance Scholars.

 Remembrance Wall

Remembrance Scholars lay flowers on the University's Remembrance Wall each December in honor of the 35 SU students who died in the bombing of Pan 103.

The scholarships were founded as a tribute to—and means of remembering—the 35 students who were killed in the Dec. 21, 1988, bombing of Pan Am Flight 103 over Lockerbie, Scotland. The students, who were returning from a semester of study in London and Florence, were among 270 people who perished in the bombing. Last December marked the 25th anniversary of the tragedy.

The scholarships are funded through an endowment supported by gifts from alumni, friends, parents and corporations. Significant support for the Remembrance Scholarships has been provided by C. Jean Thompson ’66 and Syracuse University Board of Trustees Chairman Richard L. Thompson G’67 in memory of Jean Taylor Phelan Terry ’43 and John F. Phelan, Jean Thompson’s parents, and by the Fred L. Emerson Foundation.

Selection Process

Remembrance Scholars are chosen in their junior year through a rigorous, competitive process. Applicants write three essays as part of a comprehensive application, and finalists are interviewed by members of the selection committee, composed of University faculty, staff and students. The $5,000 scholarships are awarded on the basis of distinguished academic achievement, citizenship and service to the community.

“What a privilege and honor it has been to serve as chair of the committee that has selected these 35 outstanding scholars,” says Mark Glauser, professor and associate dean in the College of Engineering and Computer Science and chair of the Remembrance Scholars Selection Committee. “They are indeed SU’s and the world’s best and brightest. I am confident they will collectively utilize their demonstrated leadership skills and seemingly infinite talents to enhance the culture of remembrance on our great campus while simultaneously increasing its visibility at SU, in the region and worldwide.”

The scholars will be recognized during a convocation in Hendricks Chapel on Friday, Oct. 24.

Additionally, the 2014-15 Lockerbie Scholars, Will Beech and Megan Noble, were recently selected. Each year, two students from Lockerbie come to Syracuse for a year of study through the Syracuse-Lockerbie Scholarships, jointly funded by Syracuse and the Lockerbie Trust.