Speaker Series

Spring 2004

Wednesday, January 21, 2004
David Brauner, University of Oregon
"Eden at the End of the Oregon Trail: An Archaeologists Perspective"
 
Wednesday, January 28, 2004
Samuel Spiers, Anthropology Graduate Student, Syracuse University  
"Gather and Sell: Small Scale Mining and the Impact on Archaeological Sites in Southern Ghana"
 
Wednesday, February 04, 2004
Dr. Susan Wadley, Professor of Anthropology, Syracuse University
"AIDs, 9/11 and the Gujarat Riots: Transformations in Indian Folk Art"
 
Wednesday, February 18, 2004
Fei-Wen Liu, Harvard - Yenching Institute
"Reconstruct the Performance of an Extinct Oral Tradition: Bridal Laments in Southern Peasant China"
 
Tuesday, March 02, 2004
Yordanos Tiruneh, Syracuse University, Department of Anthropology
"Correlates of Unsafe sexual Behavior and HIV/AIDS Risk among Urban Youth in Addis Ababa"
 
Thursday, March 18, 2004
Sandra E. Greene, Cornell University
"Sacred Sites Remembered and Forgotten"
 
Wednesday, March 31, 2004
William F. Kelleher, Jr, University of Illinois
"Locality, Violent Division, Social Worth, and the Prospects for Peace in a Northern Ireland Border Town: An Ethnographic"
 
Wednesday, April 07, 2004
Robert J Gordon, University of Vermont
"Fido, Dog Tales of Colonialism in Namibia"
 
Tuesday, April 13, 2004
Marta Vega, Baruch College - City University of New York
"When Spirits Dance Mambo"
 
Thursday, April 15, 2004
Gregory Possehl, University of Pennsylvania
"The Third Millennium Middle Asian Interaction Sphere"