• Recent Awards and Honors

    Research. Teaching. Scholarship. Service. Each year, Maxwell faculty, students and staff distinguish themselves as educators, investigators and future leaders committed to excellence in the public interest. Their awards and accolades are many. To follow is a partial list of notable recent honors.

  • Hermann to receive the William Wasserstrom Prize for Graduate Teaching

    Margaret "Peg" Hermann, the Gerald B. and Daphna Cramer Professor of Global Affairs and director of the Daniel Patrick Moynihan Institute of Global Affairs, will receive the 2017 William Wasserstrom Prize for the Teaching of Graduate Students on Friday, May 12, at 5 p.m. in the Schine Student Center’s Goldstein Auditorium.


    Maxwell students selected for 2017-18 Fulbright awards

    Rachel Brown-Weinstock ’17, sociology, citizenship and civic engagement, and policy studies; Frederick Cieri ’17, international relations; and Hasmik Djoulakian ’17, citizenship and civic engagement, were selected to participate in the Fulbright English Teaching Assistant (ETA) Program.


    Maxwell students awarded Critical Language Scholarships

    Ana Monzon, a graduate student in public diplomacy, Jade Rhoads, a junior majoring in geography, and Giovanna Saccoccio, a junior majoring in international relations, were selected as recipients of the Critical Language Scholarship. The program is supported by the U.S. Department of State.


    PhD candidate Jessie Speer awarded ACLS Dissertation Fellowship

    Jessie Speer, a PhD candidate in geography, was awarded a 2017 Mellon/ACLS Dissertation Completion Fellowship for her dissertation, "Reimagining Home: Homeless Narratives As a Critique of Urban Housing." The fellowship supports a year of research and writing to help advanced graduate students in the last year of PhD dissertation writing.


    Maxwell student Maizy Ludden named 2017 Goldwater Scholar

    Maizy Ludden, a sophomore majoring in geography, has been named a 2017 Goldwater Scholar. The Barry Goldwater Scholarship and Excellence in Education Program was established by Congress in 1986 to honor U.S. Sen. Barry Goldwater, the five-term senator from Arizona. Read more.


    Hromadžić, Lasch-Quinn receive faculty recognition award

    Azra Hromadžić, assistant professor of anthropology, and Elisabeth Lasch-Quinn, professor of history, were among the six recipients of the 2017 Excellence in Graduate Education Faculty Recognition Award. The award honors faculty who have a significant, positive influence on graduate education at Syracuse University.


    Maxwell students win big at New York Business Plan Competition

    Josh Aviv '15 BA (Econ), Ryan Brinkerhoff '16 BA (PSt), and Khalid Bin Ayaz Khan '17 BA (Econ) were among the Syracuse University student entrepreneurship teams that dominated the eighth annual New York Business Plan Competition (NYBPC) on Friday, April 28.


    Maxwell students receive prestigious Udall Scholarship

    Jade Rhoads and Maizy Ludden, both majoring in geography, were selected for the prestigious Udall Scholarship. The Udall Foundation awards scholarships to college sophomores and juniors for leadership, public service and commitment to issues related to Native American nations or to the environment.


    Charles Willie '57 PhD (soc) receives Chancellor's Citation

    Charles Willie '57 PhD (soc), former chair of sociology, received the Chancellor’s Citation Lifetime Achievement Award at the One University Awards ceremony on April 25, 2017.


    Maxwell faculty, students honored at One University Awards event

    Syracuse University held the inaugural One University Awards Ceremony on Tuesday, April 25, in Hendricks Chapel, honoring members of the University community, many from Maxwell, for their scholarship, teaching, academic achievement, leadership and service.


    Meredith Professor Jackie Orr, teaching awardees honored

    Jackie Orr, associate professor of sociology in the Maxwell School of Citizenship and Public Affairs will be named as a 2017-20 Laura J. and L. Douglas Meredith Professor of Teaching Excellence at a ceremony on Thursday, April 20, at 4 p.m. in the Goldstein Alumni and Faculty Center.


    2017 Moynihan junior faculty award to be given to Hrodmažić, McCormick

    This year's Daniel Patrick Moynihan Award for Teaching and Research, recognizing outstanding non-tenured faculty members at the Maxwell School, will be given to Azra Hrodmažić and Gladys McCormick, assistant professors of anthropology and history, respectively.


    Four Maxwell students named 2017 Syracuse University Scholars

    Farrell Brenner, Rachel Brown-Weinstock, Hasmik Djoulakian, and Soleil Young are among the 12 graduating seniors named 2017 Syracuse University Scholars, the highest undergraduate honor that the University bestows.


    Boroujerdi named a 2017-18 American Council on Education (ACE) Fellow

    Mehrzad Boroujerdi, professor and chair of political science at the Maxwell School and a Provost Faculty Fellow for internationalization, has been named an American Council on Education (ACE) Fellow for the 2017-18 academic year.