CCE Advisory Board

The Faculty Advisory Board Chair is the primary governing body of the Maxwell Program in Citizenship and Civic Engagement.  It is comprised of faculty from across the Maxwell School and a selected CCE Student Representative member. The Faculty Advisory Board advises the Faculty Chair and Program Coordinator on issues related to program administration, course and curriculum assessment, strategic planning and formal program review.

Kristi Andersen

Kristi Andersen
Professor Emeritus, Political Science
Laura J. and L. Douglas Meredith Professor for Teaching Excellence
Maxwell Professor of Teaching Excellence
Chapple Family Professor of Citizenship and Democracy Emeritus
Ph.D., University of Chicago, 1976
American politics, political parties, public opinion, women and politics, immigration

Peter Castro

A.H. Peter Castro
Professor, Anthropology
Robert D. McClure Professor of Teaching Excellence
Ph.D., University of California, Santa Barbara, 1988
Applied anthropology, rural development policy and planning, environmental conflict management,climate change, forestry, food security, refugees, East Africa

Matt Cleary

Matthew R. Cleary
Associate Professor, Political Science
Ph.D., University of Chicago, 2004
Latin American politics, political institutions, democratization, and ethnic politics

Carol Faulkner 2021 faculty pg

Carol Faulkner
Associate Dean; Professor, History
Tenth Decade Faculty Scholar
Ph.D., Binghamton University, 1998
19th-century America, U.S. women, gender, sexuality, social movements

Shana Gadarian 2021 faculty pg

Shana Kushner Gadarian
Professor and Chair, Political Science
Ph.D., Princeton University, 2008
American politics, political psychology, political communication, public opinion, experimental methods

Catherine Gerard

Catherine M. Gerard
Professor of Practice, Public Administration and International Affairs
M.A. (University of Toronto), M.P.A. (SUNY-Albany)
Leadership; organizational development; total quality management.

Paul Hagenloh

Paul M. Hagenloh
Associate Professor, History
Ph.D., University of Texas, 1999
Modern Russia

Azra Hromadzic

Azra Hromadžić
Associate Professor, Anthropology
Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, PA (U.S.A.) 2009
Political anthropology; ethno-political violence and post-conflict reconciliation; socialism and post-socialism; gender; youth cultural practices; social policy and welfare; aging, care, and responsibility; and the Balkans.

Amy Lutz

Amy Lutz
Associate Professor, Sociology
Director of Graduate Studies, Sociology
Ph.D., University of Albany, State University of New York, 2002
Race and ethnicity, immigration, bilingualism, educational inequality

Anne Mosher

Anne E. Mosher
Associate Professor, Geography
Ph.D., Geography, Pennsylvania State University, 1989
Urban planning and geographies of infrastructure, crisis and disaster management, public scholarship and community engagement, digital humanities

Tina Nabatchi

Tina Nabatchi
Professor, Public Administration and International Affairs
Joseph A. Strasser Endowed Professor in Public Administration
Director, Program for the Advancement of Research on Conflict and Collaboration
Tenth Decade Faculty Scholar
Co-Director, Collaborative Governance Initiative
Ph.D., Indiana University, Bloomington, 2007
Public management, policy, and law; public participation; collaborative governance; conflict resolution

Olivia Troilo

Troilo Olivia
Student Representative to the Faculty Advisory Board
B.A., Political Science / History / CCE, Syracuse University, 2023

Grant Reeher

Grant Reeher
Professor, Political Science
Director, Campbell Public Affairs Institute
Ph.D., Yale University, 1992
American politics, political representation and legislature behavior, health-care policy, citizenship and democracy, public engagement, gun politics and policy

Jonnell Robinson

Jonnell A. Robinson
Associate Professor, Geography and the Environment
Director, Community Geography
Ph.D., University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, 2010
Community geography, participatory geographic information systems (GIS)


Junko Takeda
Professor, History
Daicoff Faculty Scholar
Ph.D., Stanford University, 2006
Early modern European history, modern European history, France, Mediterranean, economic globalization, history of science and medicine

Peter Wilcoxen

Peter Wilcoxen
Professor, Public Administration and International Affairs
Ajello Professor in Energy and Environmental Policy
Laura J. and L. Douglas Meredith Professor for Teaching Excellence
Director, Center for Environmental Policy and Administration
Ph.D., Harvard University, 1989
Natural resource, environmental economics