line drawing of a globe

Global Security & Development Program


The internship component of this program provides graduate students a unique opportunity for practical training and professional development in a chosen field of international affairs, development and public policy. The internship encourages students to gain in-depth knowledge of an organization and its relation to certain issues and policy processes, to define and pursue your own career aspirations, and to network for the future.  It requires a minimum of 250 hours over a period of at least 12 weeks.  Most students end up working close to full-time. 

GSDP students have interned at over 200 different offices in Washington DC including:

  • American Enterprise Institute (AEI)
  • Amnesty International
  • Asian Development Bank
  • Council on Foreign Relations
  • Creative Associates International
  • Embassy of Mexico
  • Human Rights First
  • InterAction
  • Office of the Secretary of Defense
  • Peace Corps
  • The Center for Strategic and International Studies (CSIS)
  • The Eastern Congo Initiative
  • The German Marshall Fund of the United States (GMF)
  • The Heritage Foundation
  • The U.S. Department of Defense 
  • The Wilson Center
  • U.S. Army Futures Command
  • U.S. Department of Commerce
  • U.S. Department of Homeland Security
  • U.S. Department of State
  • U.S. Department of Treasury
  • U.S. Government Accountability Office (GAO)
  • U.S. House of Representatives
  • U.S. Senate Committee on Foreign Relations
  • Vital Voices
  • World Wildlife Fund

For international students, work authorization is required. Details are available on the Center for International Services.