Advisory Board

The role of the Maxwell School Advisory Board is to provide advice and counsel to the dean and other school leaders. The board plays a key role in helping to shape the School's future. Board members are accomplished, distinguished members of the world of business, government, law, education, and beyond. Many of them are also graduates of the Maxwell School. They share a keen appreciation for the mission of the School, and, with their worldly perspective, they help assure that Maxwell grows and adapts in ways that are tactically sound and well-geared to the public sectors that Maxwell ultimately serves. The board meets twice each year, and gathers at other times as needed in smaller groups to address specific issues.

Note: Members marked with an asterisk serve also as members of the Syracuse University Board of Trustees.


B. Ben Baldanza '84 BA
Former CEO, Spirit Airlines

Andrew T. Berlin* '83 BA
Chairman and CEO, Berlin Packaging

Stephen Brodsky '93 BA
Chief Strategy Officer, R.J. O’Brien & Associates

John H. Chapple* '75 BA
President, Hawkeye Investments LLC

Cathy Daicoff '79 MPA, Vice Chair, Maxwell Advisory Board
Managing Director (ret.), S&P Global

Alexander Demas '18 MPA
Advisory Associate, Grant Thornton

Wesley C. Dias '74 BA
CEO, Argosy Consulting Group LLC

Kelly Flannery '00 BA
Deputy Chief Financial Officer, City of Chicago

Javier Font '92 MPA
Founder and Executive Vice President, Intelligence & Public Affairs

Michael G. Fox '95 BA
Chief Marketing Officer, The Culture Trip

Lisa Gordon '90 MPA
President and CEO, Atlanta Habitat for Humanity

Stephen Hagerty '91 BS/ '93 MPA
Mayor, Evanston IL & President, Hagerty Consulting Inc.

Allegra Ivey '99 MPA
Director, Global Banking & Markets, Bank of America Merrill Lynch

Nancy Jacobson '94 BA
Founder and CEO, No Labels

David Kelso '68 BA
Vice Chairman of Private Banking, J.P. Morgan and Company

Travis Mason '06 BA
Vice President of Public Policy and Government Affairs, Airbus

Christopher Meek '92 BA
Senior Director of Global Relationship Management, S&P Global & Director/Chair, Soldier Strong, Inc.

Ronald P. O'Hanley III* '80 BA Chair, Maxwell Advisory Board
President and COO, State Street Corporation

John Palmer
University Professor and Dean Emeritus, Maxwell School of Citizenship and Public Affairs

Kristen Patel '90 BA
Regional Head of Intelligence, Analytics and Systems Delivery, Asia-Pacific, HSBC

Howard G. Phanstiel* '70 BA/'71 MPA
Chairman and CEO, Phanstiel Enterprises LLC

Maj. Gen. Arnold L. Punaro, USMC Ret.
CEO, The Punaro Group

Giede-De "Gigi" Quaye '18 BA
Area Manager, Amazon

H. Lewis Rapaport '59 BA
CEO, Component Assembly Systems, Inc.

Caroline Rapking '82 MPA
President, Rapking and Associates LLC

Jeffrey Scruggs*
Managing Director, Goldman Sachs Group Inc.

Donna E. Shalala '70 MSSc/ '70 PhD/'87 LLD
Trustee Professor of Political Science, University of Miami

Nate Shanok '98 BS
Managing Director, Tishman Speyer

David Sulek '88 BA
Vice President, Booz Allen Hamilton Inc.

W. Lynn Tanner '75 PhD 
President, TEC Canada

Richard L. Thompson* '67 MA/ '15 Hon.
Senior Counsel, Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld LLP

Paul A. Volcker '08 Hon.
Chair/CEO (ret.) Federal Reserve System

Richard J. Wilhelm '68 BA
Executive Vice President (ret.), Booz Allen Hamilton, Inc.

Brian White '02 MPA
Partner, DBO Partners

Debra Whitman '97 PhD
Executive Vice President and Chief Policy Officer, AARP

James T. Willie '98 MPA
Branch Chief, Heath Resources and Services Administration, U.S. DOH & Human Services

Honorary Members

Alwaleed bin Talal bin AbdulAziz Alsaud '85 MSSc/'99 LLD
Founder and President, Kingdom Holding Co.

Molly Broad '62 BA
President (ret.), American Council on Education

Samuel V. Goekjian '52 BA
Chairman & CEO (ret.), Intracon Associates LLC

Susan C.V. Penny* '70 BA
Office Manager, Radomir D. Stevanovic MD PC

Joseph A. Strasser '53 BA/ '58 MPA
CFO (ret.), City of Jacksonville (Fla.)