Skip to Main Content

Faculty & Staff Directory




Todd Dickey

Assistant Professor, Public Administration and International Affairs

400C Eggers Hall (315) 443-1282 tdickey@maxwell.syr.edu

Public sector human resource management, labor and employment relations, and workplace conflict management

Ph.D., Cornell University,  2018


Albrecht Diem

Associate Professor, History

538 Eggers Hall (315) 443-0785 adiem@maxwell.syr.edu

History of Late Antiquity and the Middle Ages, early Medieval monasticism, hagiography, gender and sexuality

Ph.D., University of Utrecht, 2000


Gavan Duffy

Associate Professor, Political Science

513 Eggers Hall (315) 443-5764 gduffy@maxwell.syr.edu

Political methodology, political conflict, international relations

Ph.D., Massachusetts Institute of Technology, 1987


Donald H. Dutkowsky

Professor Emeritus, Economics

304 Maxwell Hall dondutk@maxwell.syr.edu

Macroeconomics, monetary policy, bank behavior, personal finance, and economics education

Ph.D., State University of New York, Buffalo, 1982


Michael R. Ebner

Associate Professor, History

531 Eggers Hall (315) 443-1264 mebner@maxwell.syr.edu

History of modern Europe, Italy, Fascism, and political violence

Ph.D., Columbia University, 2004


Colin Elman

Professor, Political Science; Director, Center for Qualitative and Multi-Method Inquiry; Director, Qualitative Data Repository

347 Eggers Hall (315) 443-4068 celman@maxwell.syr.edu

International relations, national security, qualitative methods

Ph.D., Columbia University, 1999


Miriam F. Elman

Associate Professor, Political Science

400G Eggers Hall (315) 443-7404 melman@maxwell.syr.edu

International relations, international and national security, Middle East, Israel studies, Israeli-Palestinian conflict, BDS & anti-Semitism, academic freedom and free speech

Ph.D., Columbia University, 1996


Gary V. Engelhardt

Professor, Economics; Faculty Associate, Aging Studies Institute

320F Lyman Hall (315) 443-4598 gvengelh@syr.edu

Housing markets and policies, taxation, saving behavior, pensions, Social Security, and aging

Ph.D., Massachusetts Institute of Technology, 1993


Margarita Estevez-Abe

Associate Professor, Political Science

308 Maxwell Hall (315) 443-3859 mestev02@maxwell.syr.edu

Political economy, Japan, gender

Ph.D., Harvard University, 1999


Jerry Evensky

Professor, Economics; Laura J. and L. Douglas Meredith Professor for Teaching Excellence

316B Maxwell Hall jevensky@maxwell.syr.edu

Adam Smith's moral philosophy, ethics and liberal society, economic education

Ph.D., Syracuse University, 1984