Skip to Main Content

Connect with Us Remotely

Faculty & Staff Directory




Albrecht Diem

Associate Professor, History and Director of Undergraduate Studies

538 Eggers Hall (315) 443-0785 adiem@maxwell.syr.edu

History of Late Antiquity and the Middle Ages, early Medieval monasticism, hagiography, gender and sexuality

Ph.D., University of Utrecht, 2000


Gavan Duffy

Associate Professor Emeritus, Political Science

315 Maxwell Hall (315) 443-5764 gduffy@maxwell.syr.edu

Political methodology, political conflict, international relations

Ph.D., Massachusetts Institute of Technology, 1987


Donald H. Dutkowsky

Professor Emeritus, Economics

315 Maxwell Hall dondutk@maxwell.syr.edu

Macroeconomics, monetary policy, bank behavior, personal finance, and economics education

Ph.D., State University of New York, Buffalo, 1982


Maraam Dwidar

Assistant Professor, Political Science

531 Eggers Hall (315) 443-5764 madwidar@maxwell.syr.edu

Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin, 2019


Michael R. Ebner

Associate Professor, History

531 Eggers Hall (315) 443-1264 mebner@maxwell.syr.edu

History of modern Europe, Italy, Fascism, and political violence

Ph.D., Columbia University, 2004


Colin Elman

Professor, Political Science; Director, Center for Qualitative and Multi-Method Inquiry; Director, Qualitative Data Repository

347 Eggers Hall (315) 443-4068 celman@maxwell.syr.edu

International relations, national security, qualitative methods

Ph.D., Columbia University, 1999


Miriam F. Elman

Associate Professor, Political Science

400G Eggers Hall (315) 443-7404 melman@maxwell.syr.edu

International relations, international and national security, Middle East, Israel studies, Israeli-Palestinian conflict, BDS & anti-Semitism, academic freedom and free speech

Ph.D., Columbia University, 1996


Gary V. Engelhardt

Professor, Economics; Faculty Associate, Aging Studies Institute

320F Lyman Hall (315) 443-4598 gvengelh@syr.edu

Housing markets and policies, taxation, saving behavior, pensions, Social Security, and aging

Ph.D., Massachusetts Institute of Technology, 1993


Margarita Estevez-Abe

Associate Professor, Political Science

308 Maxwell Hall (315) 443-3859 mestev02@maxwell.syr.edu

Political economy, Japan, gender

Ph.D., Harvard University, 1999


Jerry Evensky

Professor Emeritus, Economics; Laura J. and L. Douglas Meredith Professor for Teaching Excellence

315 Maxwell Hall jevensky@maxwell.syr.edu

Adam Smith's moral philosophy, ethics and liberal society, economic education

Ph.D., Syracuse University, 1984