Year concludes for 2010-2011 Humphrey Fellows

    Rocky Gap, Maryland, was the site of the final gathering of the 218 Humphrey Fellows who hailed from 93 countries and comprised the 2010-2011 Humphrey Fellows program. These Fellows spent the past 10 months at one of 18 host universities in academic study, professional development and cultural exchange.
    These include 13 Fellows from the Maxwell School, who concentrated their focus on public administration, leadership as well as some who studied IT policy in consort with the iSchool at Syracuse. The Fellows are currently completing one hallmark program element, the professional affiliation. They are working in Washington D.C., New York and Syracuse with various departments and organizations providing high-level assistance while gaining experience in U.S.-based agencies in a myriad of sectors. They will return to their home countries shortly, ready to apply their experiences and knowledge to public, private and NGO institutions. 

    The Year-End Retreat allowed Fellows to gather, celebrate accomplishments and bid farewell. During the final evening, all Fellows received a certificate signed by both President Obama and Secretary Clinton. 

    The Humphrey Fellowship is sponsored by the U.S. Department of State and administered by the Institute of International Education. This is the second program year Fellows have been hosted by the Maxwell School of Syracuse University. 

    The Maxwell School congratulates this year’s Humphrey Fellows and wishes them much future success. You will be missed! 

 Humphrey Fellows Year-End Retreat

This year’s Maxwell Humphrey Fellows included (from right): Nicolas Hernandez (Colombia), Loday Tsheten (Bhutan), Baloko Makala (Rwanda), Khaled AlAjmi (Saudi Arabia), Saidal Luni (Pakistan), Samuel Cole (Liberia), Umar Riaz (Pakistan), Jungwook Auh (South Korea), Tammy Salisbury (Executive Education staff), Fatih Akbulut (Turkey), Mutriba Latypova (Tajikistan), Margaret Lane (Executive Education staff, partially obscured in photo), Mary-Jane Ncube (Zimbabwe), Martha Ketcham (Executive Education staff, partially obscured in photo), Shahla Mahmudova (Azerbaijan), Nampoina Rabenasolo (Madagascar).