Senior Advisory Board

The purpose of the National Security Studies Board of Advisors is to support the efforts of the Maxwell School to design and conduct programs in support of NSS.  It is the work of the Board to guide NSS in maintaining a standard of excellence and currency in each of the courses NSS offers to military and civilian leaders from around the world.

Joe Hoar

Chairman General Joseph P. Hoar

President, J.P. Hoar & Associates, Inc.

Former Commander, U.S. Central Command

Board of Directors, Middle East Policy Council

David Berteau

Mr. David J. Berteau

Senior Vice President and Director of International Security Program on Industry and Resources

Center for Strategic and International Studies

James Blandin

Dr. James Blandin

Fellow, Maxwell School of Citizenship & Public Affairs, Advanced Public Management

Natalie Crawford

Mrs. Natalie Crawford

Senior Fellow; Professor, Pardee RAND Graduate School

Santa Monica Office

Ralph Eberhart

General Ed Eberhart

Chairman & President, AFBA

Former Commander in Chief, U.S. Space Command

Larry Ellis

General Larry Ellis

Board Member, AFBA

Former Commanding General, Fort McPherson

Rich Friedman

Mr. Richard E. Friedman

Senior Fellow, Urban and National Security Affairs


Admiral Edmund Giambastiani

President, Giambastiani Group LLC

Former Vice Chairman, Joint Chiefs of Staff


Kevin Gottlieb

Dr. Kevin Gottlieb

President, Kevin Gottlieb and Associates, Inc.

Professor of Public Administration, Maxwell School of Citizenship and Public Affairs

Sean O'Keefe

The Honorable Sean O’Keefe

CEO, EADS North America 

Former Administrator, National Aeronautics and Space Administration

Former Secretary of the Navy

Al Papenfus

Mr. Al Papenfus

President, Al Papenfus Associates

Janet Wall

Dr. Janet E. Wall

President, Sage Solutions

Kim WincupThe Honorable G. Kim Wincup

Senior Adviser, International Security Program- CSIS