Skip to Main Content
Maxwell School
Maxwell / Department of Geography

Geography Graduate Students

AslamySohrob Aslamy, MA  (staslamy@syr.edu)
Advisor: Natalie Koch
Interests: Land use, water governance, and economic development in post-conflict, post-socialist spaces; Central Asia

bohlinger

Jewell Bohlinger PhD (bbohling@syr.edu)
Advisor: Matt Huber
Interests: Political ecology, carceral geographies


bukowskiEmily Bukowski, PhD  (ebukowsk@syr.edu)
Advisor: Jake Bendix
Interests: Biogeography, environmental history, urban forestry  

 

carlsonKelsey Carlson, PhD  (kcarlson@syr.edu)
Advisor: Don Mitchell
Interests: Indigenous geographies and public space


cataniaTina Catania, PhD  (rtcatani@syr.edu)  
Advisor: Bob Wilson
Interests: Creative Writing, Immigration, Feminism, Race, Youth  

 

commonsMichael Commons, PhD  (mgcommon@syr.edu)  
Advisor: Jake Bendix
Interests: Biogeography - fire and landscape ecology


contrerasMiguel Contreras, PhD  (macontre@syr.edu)  
Advisor: Tom Perreault
Interests: Space and place, critical theory


ericksonJon Erickson, MA  (jwericks@syr.edu)
Advisor: Bob Wilson 
Interests: Historical geography, agricultural landscapes


FurnaroAndrea Furnaro, PhD  (atfurnar@syr.edu)
Advisor: Tom Perreault
Interests: Political ecology, political economy, environmental governance, resource extraction; Latin America

gilesJohn Giles, MA  (jhgiles@syr.edu)
Advisor: Alison Mountz (now at Wilfrid Laurier University)
Interests: Cultural justice, urban space


guoXiwei Guo, PhD  (xguo18@syr.edu)
Advisor: Peng Gao
Interests: Fluvial geomorphology, sedimentology, river restoration, human-environment interactions


glassJonathan Glass, MA  (jnglass@syr.edu)
Advisor: Mark Monmonier
Interests: Media-related issues as they relate to geography


hamlinMadeleine Hamlin, MA  (mrhamlin@syr.edu)
Advisor: Don Mitchell
Interests: Culture, justice, urban space


hartnettJustin Hartnett, PhD  (jjhartne@syr.edu)
Advisor: Susan Millar
Interests: Climatology, meteorology, and hydrology


henniganBrian Hennigan, PhD  (brhennig@syr.edu)
Advisor: Don Mitchell
Interests: Culture, justice and urban space


InamotoAkemi Inamoto, PhD (ainamoto@syr.edu)
Advisor: Tom Perreault
Interests: Feminist political ecology, agrarian politics in Colombia


IpsenHeather Ipsen, MA  (haipsen@syr.edu)
Advisor: Jane Read
Interests: Societal impacts of climate change, environment-society relations 


KelleyDavid Kelley, MA  (djkelley@syr.edu)
Advisor: Susan Millar
Interests: Climate systems, effects of climate change on spatial distribution of snow and ice


MacDonaldKatie MacDonald, MA  (kmacdona@syr.edu)
Advisor: Tom Perreault
Interests: Rural development, water management, food and agriculture, Central Asia


mingolarraAinhoa Mingolarra, PhD (ainamoto@syr.edu
Advisor: Tom Perreault
Interests: Political ecology, water, Latin America and the Caribbean


oberlePatrick Oberle, PhD  (poberle@syr.edu)
Advisor: Mark Monmonier, Jonnell Robinson
Interests: Urban geography, GIS and society, community geography, urban planning


przybylinski Stephen Przybylinski, PhD  (sprzybyl@syr.edu)
Advisor: Don Mitchell
Interests: Urban geography, production of urban spaces, socio-spatial inequality


pustelnykAlex Pustelnyk, MA (ampustel@syr.edu)
Advisor: Matt Huber
Interests: Urban political economy, capitalism and the informal sector, new material geographies


quinnJesse Quinn, PhD  (jquinn@syr.edu)
Advisor: Natalie Koch
Interests: Political geography, political ecology, post-Soviet studies

ruizManuela Ruiz, PhD  (mruizrey@syr.edu)
Advisor: Tom Perreault
Interests: Political ecology, agrarian studies, feminist theory


sertzenPamela K. Sertzen, PhD  (pksertze@syr.edu)
Advisor: Jamie Winders
Interests: Memory, justice, and urban space


sicaCarlo Sica, PhD  (cesica@syr.edu)
Advisor: Matt Huber
Interests: Political economy, resource geography, historical geography


speer Jessie Speer, PhD  (jlspeer@syr.edu)
Advisor: Don Mitchell
Interests: Legal geography


teerakowitkajorn Kriangsak Teerakowitkajorn, PhD  (kteerako@syr.edu)
Advisor: Tod Rutherford
Interests: Labor geography, political economy,  industrialization urbanization, labor activism


teixeiraTiago Teixeira, PhD  (taalvest@syr.edu)
Advisor: Tod Rutherford
Interests: Political geography, economics


van ramshorstJared Van Ramshorst, PhD  (jpvanram@syr.edu)
Advisor: Jamie Winders
Interests: Transnational migration, borders, emotions and space


walkerAnthony Walker, MA (ajwalker@syr.edu)
Advisor: Jonnell Robinson
Interests: Food justice, community geography


waltonKristopher Walton, MA (kcwalton@syr.edu)
Advisor: Jonnell Robinson
Interests: Food justice, community geography


wang Sean Wang , PhD  (shwang13@syr.edu)
Advisor: Jamie Winders
Interests: Human geography


whearJared Whear, PhD  (jcwhear@syr.edu)
Advisor: Robert Wilson
Interests: Environmental geography; social movements; water and energy resources


wilkinsDominic Wilkins, MA (dowilkin@syr.edu)
Advisor: Robert Wilson
Interests: Environmental values and religion