Geography Graduate Students

Sohrob AslamySohrob Aslamy, MA  (staslamy@syr.edu)
Advisor: Natalie Koch
Interests: Land use, water governance, and economic development in post-conflict, post-socialist spaces; Central Asia

Jewell Bohlinger

Jewell Bohlinger PhD (bbohling@syr.edu)
Advisor: Matt Huber
Interests: Political ecology, carceral geographies


Emily BukowskiEmily Bukowski, PhD  (ebukowsk@syr.edu)
Advisor: Jake Bendix
Interests: Biogeography, environmental history, urban forestry

 

K. YoungKelsey Young, PhD  ( kcarlson@syr.edu)
Advisor: Don Mitchell
Interests: Indigenous geographies and public space


Tina CataniaTina Catania, PhD  (rtcatani@syr.edu)
Advisor: Robert Wilson
Interests: Creative Writing, Immigration, Feminism, Race, Youth

 

M. CommonsMichael Commons, PhD  ( mgcommon@syr.edu)
Advisor: Jake Bendix
Interests: Biogeography - fire and landscape ecology


Miguel ContrerasMiguel Contreras, PhD  ( macontre@syr.edu)
Advisor: Tom Perreault
Interests: Space and place, critical theory


Jon EricksonJon Erickson, MA  ( jwericks@syr.edu)
Advisor: Robert Wilson
Interests: Historical geography, agricultural landscapes


Andrea FurnaroAndrea Furnaro, PhD  (atfurnar@syr.edu jwericks@syr.edu)
Advisor: Tom Perreault
Interests: Political ecology, political economy, environmental governance, resource extraction; Latin America

John GilesJohn Giles, MA  (jhgiles@syr.edu)
Advisor: Alison Mountz (now at Wilfrid Laurier University)
Interests: Cultural justice, urban space


Xiwei GuoXiwei Guo, PhD  (xguo18@syr.edu)
Advisor: Peng Gao
Interests: Fluvial geomorphology, sedimentology, river restoration, human-environment interactions


Jonathan GlassJonathan Glass, MA  (jnglass@syr.edu)
Advisor: Mark Monmonier
Interests: Media-related issues as they relate to geography


Madeleine HamlinMadeleine Hamlin, MA  ( mrhamlin@syr.edu)
Advisor: Don Mitchell
Interests: Culture, justice, urban space


Justin HartnettJustin Hartnett, PhD  ( jjhartne@syr.edu)
Advisor: Susan Millar
Interests: Climatology, meteorology, and hydrology


Brian HenniganBrian Hennigan, PhD  ( brhennig@syr.edu)
Advisor: Don Mitchell
Interests: Culture, justice and urban space


Akemi InamotoAkemi Inamoto, PhD ( ainamoto@syr.edu)
Advisor: Tom Perreault
Interests: Feminist political ecology, agrarian politics in Colombia


Heather IpsenHeather Ipsen, MA  (haipsen@syr.edu)
Advisor: Robert Wilson 
Interests: Societal impacts of climate change, environment-society relations 


David KelleyDavid Kelley, MA  (djkelley@syr.edu)
Advisor: Susan Millar
Interests: Climate systems, effects of climate change on spatial distribution of snow and ice


Katie MacDonaldKatie MacDonald, MA  ( kmacdona@syr.edu )
Advisor: Tom Perreault
Interests: Rural development, water management, food and agriculture, Central Asia


Ainhoa MingolarraAinhoa Mingolarra, PhD (amingola@syr.edu
Advisor: Tom Perreault
Interests: Political ecology, water, Latin America and the Caribbean


P. OberlePatrick Oberle, PhD  ( poberle@syr.edu)
Advisor: Mark Monmonier, Jonnell Robinson
Interests: Urban geography, GIS and society, community geography, urban planning


Stephen Przybylinski Stephen Przybylinski, PhD  (sprzybyl@syr.edu)
Advisor: Don Mitchell
Interests: Urban geography, production of urban spaces, socio-spatial inequality


Alex PustelnykAlex Pustelnyk, MA (ampustel@syr.edu)
Advisor: Matt Huber
Interests: Urban political economy, capitalism and the informal sector, new material geographies


Jesse QuinnJesse Quinn, PhD  (jquinn@syr.edu)
Advisor: Natalie Koch
Interests: Political geography, political ecology, post-Soviet studies

M. RuizManuela Ruiz, PhD  ( mruizrey@syr.edu)
Advisor: Tom Perreault
Interests: Political ecology, agrarian studies, feminist theory


Pamela SertzenPamela K. Sertzen, PhD  ( pksertze@syr.edu)
Advisor: Robert Wilson
Interests: Memory, justice, and urban space


C. SicaCarlo Sica, PhD  (cesica@syr.edu)
Advisor: Matt Huber
Interests: Political economy, resource geography, historical geography


Jessie Speer Jessie Speer, PhD  (jlspeer@syr.edu)
Advisor: Don Mitchell
Interests: Urban and feminist geographies


Kriangsak Teerakowitkajorn Kriangsak Teerakowitkajorn, PhD  (kteerako@syr.edu)
Advisor: Tod Rutherford
Interests: Labor geography, political economy,  industrialization urbanization, labor activism


T. TeixeiraTiago Teixeira, PhD  ( taalvest@syr.edu)
Advisor: Tod Rutherford
Interests: Political geography, economics


J. Van RamshorstJared Van Ramshorst, PhD  (jpvanram@syr.edu)
Advisor: Jamie Winders
Interests: Transnational migration, borders, emotions and space


Anthony WalkerAnthony Walker, MA ( ajwalker@syr.edu)
Advisor: Jonnell Robinson
Interests: Food justice, community geography


Kristopher WaltonKristopher Walton, MA (kcwalton@syr.edu)
Advisor: Jonnell Robinson
Interests: Food justice, community geography


Sean Wang Sean Wang , PhD  (shwang13@syr.edu)
Advisor: Jamie Winders
Interests: Human geography


Jared WhearJared Whear, PhD  (jcwhear@syr.edu)
Advisor: Robert Wilson
Interests: Environmental geography; social movements; water and energy resources


Dominic WilkinsDominic Wilkins, MA (dowilkin@syr.edu)
Advisor: Robert Wilson
Interests: Environmental values and religion