Current Geography and the Environment Students

Sohrob AslamySohrob Aslamy, PhD (staslamy@syr.edu)
Advisor: Tod Rutherford
Interests: Political economy, political geography, urban space, Afghanistan and Central Asia

Dakota BaileyDakota Bailey, MA (djbailey@syr.edu)
Advisor: Jane Read
Interests: GIS/geospatial technologies, physical geography

Jewell BohlingerJewell Bohlinger PhD (bbohling@syr.edu)
Advisor: Matt Huber
Interests: Political ecology, carceral geographies

Emily BukowskiEmily Bukowski, PhD (ebukowsk@syr.edu)
Advisor: Jake Bendix
Interests: Biogeography, environmental history, urban forestry

Chad ChambersChad Chambers, PhD (chchambe@syr.edu)
Advisor: Matt Huber
Interests: Geography of oil, geospatial visualization

Collin ChambersCollin Chambers, PhD (cchamber@syr.edu)
Advisor: Matt Huber
Interests: Political economy, environment & society, China, Marxism

Tina CataniaTina Catania, PhD  (rtcatani@syr.edu)
Advisor: Robert Wilson
Interests: Creative Writing, Immigration, Feminism, Race, Youth

Michael CommonsMichael Commons, PhD (mgcommon@syr.edu)
Advisor: Jake Bendix
Interests: Biogeography - fire and landscape ecology

Claudia Diaz-CombsClaudia Diaz-Combs, PhD  (cidiazco@syr.edu)
Advisor: Tom Perreault
Interests: Political ecology, water, natural resource extraction, environmental justice, Latin America

Joey DiStefanoJoey DiStefano, MA (jpdistef@syr.edu)
Advisor: Peng Gao
Interests: Fluvial geomorphology, urban water systems, environmental justice

jamie fico-thumbnailJamie Fico, MA (jnfico@syr.edu)
Advisor: Natalie Koch
Interests: Environmental change, sustainable agriculture, community resiliency, and local environmental decision-making in Morocco

John GilesJohn Giles, MA (jhgiles@syr.edu)
Advisor: Alison Mountz (now at Wilfrid Laurier University)
Interests: Cultural justice, urban space

Jonathan GlassJonathan Glass, MA  (jnglass@syr.edu)
Advisor: Mark Monmonier
Interests: Media-related issues as they relate to geography

Nicole Moeller GonzalezNicole Moeller Gonzalez, PhD  (nicole.y.gonzalez@gmail.com)
Advisor: Matt Huber
Interests: Marxism, labor and environmental movements

Xiwei GuoXiwei Guo, PhD  (xguo18@syr.edu)
Advisor: Peng Gao
Interests: Fluvial geomorphology, sedimentology, river restoration, human-environment interactions

Madeleine HamlinMadeleine Hamlin, PhD (mrhamlin@syr.edu)
Advisor: Don Mitchell
Interests: Culture, justice, urban space

Brian HenniganBrian Hennigan, PhD  ( brhennig@syr.edu)
Advisor: Don Mitchell
Interests: Culture, justice and urban space

yeryun-hong-thumbnailYeryun Hong, PhD ( yehong@syr.edu)
Advisor: Jamie Winders
Interests: Urban space, feminism, sexuality, East Asia

Akemi InamotoAkemi Inamoto, PhD (ainamoto@syr.edu)
Advisor: Tom Perreault
Interests: Feminist political ecology, agrarian politics in Colombia

amanda jacobs-thumbnailAmanda Jacobs, MA (ajacob03@syr.edu)
Advisor: Jake Bendix
Interests: Environmental degradation, landform change, resource use

Mike KellyMike Kelly, MA (mtkell01@syr.edu)
Advisor: Matt Huber
Interests: Urban geography, housing justice

Katie MacDonaldKatie MacDonald, PhD  (kmacdona@syr.edu)
Advisor: Tom Perreault
Interests: Rural development, water management, food and agriculture, Central Asia

Ainhoa MingolarraAinhoa Mingolarra, PhD (amingola@syr.edu
Advisor: Tom Perreault
Interests: Political ecology, water, Latin America and the Caribbean

jihyuk park-thumbnailJihyuk Park, PhD (jpark41@syr.edu)
Advisor: Natalie Koch
Interests: Political geography, critical geopolitics, state and nationalism, East Asia

Khila PecoraroKhila Pecoraro, MA (kspecora@syr.edu)
Advisor: Jane Read
Interests: Political ecology, geospacial methods, and environmental change

Mirella PretellMirella Pretell, PhD (mpretell@syr.edu)
Advisor: Tom Perreault
Interests: Political ecology, resource extraction, indigenous movements, Peruvian Amazon

M. RuizManuela Ruiz, PhD (mruizrey@syr.edu)
Advisor: Tom Perreault
Interests: Political ecology, agrarian studies, feminist theory

Pamela SertzenPamela K. Sertzen, PhD (pksertze@syr.edu)
Advisor: Robert Wilson
Interests: Memory, justice, and urban space

Yunrui SiYunrui Si, MA  (ysi103@syr.edu)
Advisor: Peng Gao
Interests: Fluvial geomorphology, flooding, GIS/geospatial technologies

Jared WhearJared Whear, PhD  (jcwhear@syr.edu)
Advisor: Robert Wilson
Interests: Environmental geography; social movements; water and energy resources

Dominic WilkinsDominic Wilkins, PhD (dowilkin@syr.edu)
Advisor: Robert Wilson
Interests: Social movements, political ecology, religion, and the environmental humanities

 Kelsey YoungKelsey Young, PhD  (kcarlson@syr.edu)
Advisor: Don Mitchell
Interests: Indigenous geographies and public space