RESEARCH DESIGN DISCUSSION GROUP SCHEDULE

2019 Institute for Qualitative and Multi-Method Research

TUESDAY 6/18

1.1 SEAWRIGHT

1.1.1 Vinicius de melo Justo, Ohio State University, demelojusto.1@buckeyemail.osu.edu, Dominant Parties and Conflict in Southern Africa

1.1.2 Ekaterina Paustyan, Central European University, Paustyan_Ekaterina@phd.ceu.edu, Explaining Gubernatorial Survival in Russia

1.1.3 Yakasah Wehyee, University of Minnesota, wehye002@umn.edu, The Fallen Whig: The Rise and Fall of Hegemonic Party Autocracy in Liberia

1.2 MAHONEY

1.2.1 Laura Hosman, University of Denver, laura.hosman5@gmail.com, Strategic Litigation in Latin America: When indigenous social movements and civil society activism check corporate misbehavior

1.2.2 Gabriel Nahmias, MIT, gnahmias@mit.edu, Theories of Power and Theories of Change: The Origins of Civil Society Advocacy Strategies

1.2.3 Lisa-Marie Selvik, University of Bergen, Lisa.Selvik@uib.no, Pro-Democracy Activists' Strategies in Africa

1.3 GOERTZ

1.3.1 Nussaiba Ashraf Mohamed Abdelsamee, Cairo University, nussaibaashraf@feps.edu.eg, Resisting hegemony in world system: a study in comparative patterns since the end of cold war

1.3.2 Karst Brandsma, Tufts University, Karst.brandsma@tufts.edu, With Friends Like These: An Analysis of the Factors that Exacerbate Military Defection

1.3.3 Takuya Matsuda, King's College London, takuya.tg677@gmail.com, Great Power Strategies and Alliance Politics: Are Allies an Asset or a Liability for Great Powers in times of Power Shifts?

1.4 WEDEEN

1.4.1 Heba Al-Adawy, Australian National University, Heba.Aladawy@anu.edu.au, Understanding Youth Development and Engagement in Pakistani Higher Education Sector

1.4.2 Mathilde Cecchini, Aarhus University, mcecchini@ps.au.dk, “I Am a Leader and a Doctor, but Above All I Am Human” Examining the Identities of Executive Consultants in the Danish Health Care Sector

1.4.3 Dion Nania, New School for Social Research, nanid359@newschool.edu, Custodial workers and prison strikes: contesting the reproduction of mass incarceration

1.5 MAZZARELLA AND MAJUMDAR

1.5.1 Carlos Contreras, The University of New Mexico, ccontreras@unm.edu, Institutional Responses to Sexual Assault and Harassment in Mexican Universities

1.5.2 Carissa Cunningham, Rutgers University, cac544@rutgers.edu, The Power of the Earthworm: A Comparison of Trans* Military Accession Policy in the Republic of Korea and the United States

1.5.3 Denise Zambezi, University of Pretoria, denisezambezi@gmail.com, The right of transgender people to access healthcare in South Africa: social and legal study

WEDNESDAY 6/19

2.1 SEAWRIGHT

2.1.1 Veronica Hurtado, The University of British Columbia, vhurtado@alumni.ubc.ca, The Authoritarian Curse: The effects of resource wealth on social networks and democratic attitudes

2.1.2 Fakhridho Susilo, The Australian National University, fakhridho.susilo@anu.edu.au, The Politics of Public Resource Distribution in Decentralized Indonesia

2.1.3 Yuan Wang, University of Oxford, yuan.wang@politics.ox.ac.uk, Governing infrastructure: The politics of Sino-Africa infrastructure development

2.2 MAHONEY

2.2.1 Gabriella Levy, Duke University, Gabriella.Levy@duke.edu, Winning with Ballots, Not Bullets: Support for Former Combatants Running for Office

2.2.2 Dana Moyer, University of Virginia, dkmoyer@virginia.edu, Competing for Citizenship and Claiming Territory in Civil War

2.2.3 Maria Laura Veramendi Garcia, Syracuse University, mveramen@syr.edu, The Comparative Politics of Health Policies in Latin America: Private-Sector Firms and Policy Reforms in Chile and Peru

2.3 GOERTZ

2.3.1 Deborah Groen, Georgetown University, dg775@georgetown.edu, What Drives Variation in how Civil Rights and Civil Liberties Groups Engage with the U.S. Supreme Court on First Amendment Issues?

2.3.2 Sam Hayes, Boston College, sam.hayes@bc.edu, Courtroom Cartography: Analyzing the Role U.S. Courts in Redistricting

2.3.3 SoRelle Wyckoff, University of Maryland, sorellew@terpmail.umd.edu, Come to Order: Witness Testimony and the Motivations of Congressional Hearings

2.4 MAZZARELLA AND MAJUMDAR

2.4.1 Veysi Dag, University of London, vd7@soas.ac.uk, Institutions, Functions and Meanings of Stateless Diasporas as Trans-border Pillar of Self-Governmentality in the Homeland and Abroad: A Case Study of Kurdish Diaspora Institutions in Berlin and Jerusalem

2.4.2 Colleen Elizabeth Wood, Columbia University, cw3047@columbia.edu, Assessing Why and How States Pursue Ethnic Return Migration

2.4.3 Basil Zeno, University of Massachusetts Amherst, bzeno@umass.edu, Violence, Liminality, and Identity (re)Formation in Exile: the Case of Syrian Asylum-Seekers and Refugees in the United States

2.5 ELMAN

2.5.1 Jeremy Gwinn, Tufts University, jeremy.gwinn@tufts.edu, Anticipating Blowback: Explaining Outcomes in U.S. Unconventional Warfare Campaigns

2.5.2 Christian Oswald, Trinity College Dublin, coswald@tcd.ie, Explaining and predicting the adoption, timing and location of terrorism in civil conflicts

2.5.3 Jayme Schlesinger, Rutgers University, jayschle@scarletmail.rutgers.edu, How Religion Effects the Nature of Terrorism

THURSDAY 6/20

3.1 SEAWRIGHT

3.1.1 Justin Canfil, Columbia University, j.canfil@columbia.edu, Governing the Uncommons: the Impact of Technological Change on International Law

3.1.2 Paul Kemp, University of Denver, paulkemp39@hotmail.com, Dirty Money Management: Explaining Variation in US Government Action Against Illicit Finance

3.1.3 Wenzhi Lu, The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, wluab@connect.ust.hk, Overcoming Information Constraints: Disincentivizing Falsification of Local Statistics in China

3.2 GOERTZ

3.2.1 Mohammed Ouhemmou, Hassan II University, ouhemou@gmail.com, The Internationalization of Moroccan Higher Education: An Empirical Investigation of the Experience of Sub-Saharan Students in Moroccan Universities.

3.2.2 Cynthia Parayiwa, The Australian National University, Cynthia.Parayiwa@anu.edu.au, Effects of cyclone events on pregnancies in Queensland, Australia- impact and outcomes

3.2.3 Amali Wedagedara, University of Hawaii, amali@hawaii.edu, Debt and Political Subjectivity: A study of indebtedness among low-income households in Sri Lanka

3.3 GRANT AND DODMAN

3.3.1 Vinessa Buckland, Syracuse University, vdbuckla@syr.edu, Judicial Partisanship: the Impact of Party Policy Change on Eighth Amendment Jurisprudence

3.3.2 Stephen Phillips, University of Florida, scphillips@ufl.edu, Refounding: How the Constitution Shapes American Political Development

3.3.3 Yu-Hsien Sung, University of South Carolina, ysung@email.sc.edu, Prosecutorial discretion and career motives

3.4 SCHNEIDER AND THOMANN

3.4.1 Laura de Castro Quaglia, University of Texas at Austin, lauracquaglia@gmail.com, National Security Reform in the U.S.: How 9/11 made way for a long overdue change

3.4.2 Jonathan G. Panter, Columbia University, jgp2134@columbia.edu, Authoritarian military effectiveness across domains

3.4.3 Jaganath Sankaran, University of Texas at Austin, jaganath@austin.utexas.edu, Destruction and Terror from a Distance: Missiles and Weak State Coercion in War

3.5 HIDALGO

3.5.1 Elsa Talat Khwaja, George Mason University, Schar School of Policy and Government, ekhwaja@masonlive.gmu.edu, The Network Architecture of Development Interventions: Exploring the Relational Dynamics of Aid-Impact within Pakistan and Afghanistan

3.5.2 Irene Morlino, The London School of Economics and Political Science, I.Morlino@lse.ac.uk, European Union humanitarian aid: effectiveness and coordination

MONDAY 6/24

4.1 KAPISZEWSKI

4.1.1 Sultan Alamer, George Washington University, alamer@gwu.edu, Minorities Without Majorities: The Origins of the Territorial State and Sectarianism in the Arab Middle East

4.1.2 Tara Ginnane, University of Texas at Austin, tara.ginnane@gmail.com, The National Membership Politics of External Voting

4.1.3 Karla Mundim, University of Florida, karlamundim@ufl.edu, Indigenous Mobilization in Latin America: A Long-Range Approach to Ethnicity and Nationalism in Peru, Bolivia, and Ecuador

4.2 MACLEAN

4.2.1 Donia Smaali Bouhlila, University of Tunis El Manar, donia.smaali@gmail.com, Conflicts and poverty in Sub-Saharan Africa

4.2.2 Mary Langan, Johns Hopkins SAIS, mlangan3@jhu.edu, South Sudan: Administrative Boundary Proliferation and Conflict

4.2.3 Esmeranda Manful, Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology, emanful.cass@knust.edu.gh, Assessment of child neglect in Ghana: quest for an effective intervention threshold model

4.3 JACOBS

4.3.1 Angela Garcia, London School of Economics, angela.garcia.calvo@post.harvard.edu, Reaching the efficiency frontier: State-firm coordination and industrial upgrading in skill-, capital-, and knowledge-intensive industries

4.3.2 Alix Jansen, University of Toronto, alix.jansen@mail.utoronto.ca, Skills for Whom? Inequality of Access, Active Labour Market Policies, and Automation in 21st Century Welfare States

4.3.3 Xiangning Li, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, xlicl@connect.ust.hk, Structural Change and Social Mobility Before and After China’s Industrial Take-off in the Mid-20th Century: A Micro-level Study of a Community in Shanxi Province, North China 

4.4 LARSON

4.4.1 Felicity Gray, Australian National University + The New School, felicity.gray@anu.edu.au, Reshaping boundaries of civilian protection: the challenge of a nonviolent approach

4.4.2 Layla Hashemi, George Mason University, lhashem2@gmu.edu, Protest and Resistance in Authoritarian Contexts

4.4.3 Espen Stokke, University of Bergen, Espen.Stokke@uib.no, Mobilizing for Justice in the Middle East: Comparative Case Study of Diasporas Seeking Truth and Reconciliation in the Homeland

4.5 SCHAFFER

4.5.1 Christy Brandly (aka Monet), University of Chicago, christymonet@uchicago.edu, Mythmaking and Statebuilding in Post-Civil War America and Post-Soviet Russia

4.5.2 Marissa Kemp, London School of Economics and Political Science, M.L.Kemp@lse.ac.uk, Constructing Combatants: Lethal Autonomous Weapons Systems, Human-Robot Relationships, and Contemporary Warfare

4.5.3 Anya Ce Liang, University of Cambridge, cl714@cam.ac.uk, Glorious Past Vulnerable Present: Great Power Re-emergence in World Politics

WEDNESDAY 6/26

5.1 KREUZER

5.1.1 Hande Abay Gaspar, PRIF (Peace Research Institute Frankfurt), abay@hsfk.de, Variance of Salafist radicalization processes

5.1.2 Emma Rosenberg, University of Notre Dame, erosenbe@nd.edu, Religious Appeals as a Political Strategy in Central Europe

5.1.3 Bilal Shakir, McGill University, bilal.shakir@mail.mcgill.ca, Regulating the Religious in the Islamic leviathan: An analysis of religion and political stability in Indonesia and Pakistan (1969-1977)

5.2 SAUNDERS

5.2.1 Yi-ting Chiu, George Mason University, ychiu@masonlive.gmu.edu, What creates a Village? -- the Socio-economic Factors of "the Village movement."

5.2.2 Tae Hyun Lim, Syracuse University, talim@syr.edu, Policy Agenda and Media Agenda in South Korean Family Policy Development

5.2.3 Mary Ann Joy Robles Quirapas, National University of Singapore, mquirapas@u.nus.edu, Renewable Energy Adoption in Poor Rural Areas in the Philippines: Why Communities Matter

5.3 LOWE

5.3.1 Olivia Nantermoz, London School of Economics and Political Science, O.Nantermoz-Benoit-Gonin@lse.ac.uk, 'Humanity Must Be Defended' - Penal Humanitarianism in World Politics

5.3.2 Valentina Salas Ramos, University of Minnesota, salas040@umn.edu, “¡Están violando mis derechos!”: Identifying everyday rights violations as legal problems in Chile

5.3.3 Ezgi Yildiz, Graduate Institute, Geneva, ezgi.yildiz@graduateinstitute.ch, How do Norms Evolve? Legal Frames for Expansion 

5.4 BENNETT

5.4.1 Julie Liebenguth, Colorado State University, Julianne.Liebenguth@colostate.edu, Agents of Environmental Security: Emerging Sources of Legitimacy and Accountability in Global Environmental Governance

5.4.2 Yon Soo Park, Harvard University, yonsoo_park@g.harvard.edu, Constructing Threats: Empirical Study on the Politics of Security Framing

5.5 WALDNER

5.5.1 Stefano Burzo, University of British Columbia, s.burzo@alumni.ubc.ca, Reputation in International Agreements: Dispute Settlement and Foreign Direct Investment

5.5.2 Walter James, Temple University, tug78013@temple.edu, Financial Stability and the Politics of Regulatory Reputation

5.5.3 Keith Preble, University of Albany, kpreble@albany.edu, Sectors and Motivations: Toward a Typology Sanctions Busting 

5.6 PACHIRAT

5.6.1 Janel Jett, Purdue University, jettj@purdue.edu, Social Constructions of Aging on Television: The United States and South Korea

5.6.2 Luisa Turbino Torres, University of Delaware, lttorres@udel.edu, From the streets to the field: Feminist activism around soccer in Brazil

5.6.3 Thomas Worth, University of Wisconsin - Madison, tsworth@wisc.edu, Social Media Speech Acts and the Politics of Topping: A Gender Analysis of the Relationship Between Trump and Kim Jong-un

THURSDAY 6/27

6.1 KREUZER

6.1.1 Nicholas Bell, University of Pennsylvania, belln@sas.upenn.edu, What Kinds of Welfare Do Workers Want? Investigating the Demand-side of Embedded Liberalism

6.1.2 Gwen Prowse, Yale University, gwen.prowse@yale.edu, “The City Lives in Fear of the State”: Explaining Local Policy Activism in the Era of Preemption

6.1.3 Brooke Shannon, University of Texas at Austin, brooke.shannon224@gmail.com, Explaining the Local Policy Agenda

6.2 BENNETT

6.2.1 Ugur Altundal, Syracuse University, ualtunda@syr.edu, Travel Freedom and Democratic Diffusion

6.2.2 Abby Fanlo, Stanford University, afanlo@stanford.edu, Crises of Commitment: How Shocks to Security Guarantees Impact International Conflict

6.2.3 Kristine Tockman, Georgetown University, kat4@georgetown.edu, Face-to-Face Diplomacy in the Digital Age: A Photo Op or Security Tool?

6.3 ELMAN

6.3.1 Joseph Becker, Johns Hopkins University, Jbecke24@jhu.edu, Institutionalized Conflict: The U.S.-Iranian Relationship

6.3.2 Gary Sampson, Tufts University, Gary.sampson@tufts.edu, "With no lips, the teeth get cold": Chinese influence and the development of the North Korean nuclear weapons program, 1990-present

6.3.3 Timothy Urban,, Timothy.urban@tufts.edu, Guarding the Guardians: Challenges to Security Sector Efficiency and Accountability in Latin America

6.4 FAIRFIELD

6.4.1 Tessa Evans, Cornell University, tessadevans@gmail.com, Under what conditions do African states implement gender equality in family law?

6.4.2 Elizabeth McCallion, Queen's University, 16em2@queensu.ca, Who Acts for Women? A Comparative Analysis of Women’s Substantive Representation in the Canadian House of Commons and Senate

6.5 SCHAFFER

6.5.1 Geneva Cole, University of Chicago, genevacole@uchicago.edu, Red, White, and Anti-Black: Nationalism and Group Boundaries in American Politics

6.5.2 Amanda Jadidi D'Urso, Northwestern University, amandadurso2021@u.northwestern.edu, Middle Eastern and North African Identity in America, or You MENA I'm not white?

6.5.3 Charles Turner, University of Utah, u1149289@utah.edu, Muslim-Americans and Political Party Socialization