Program Faculty


Carol Babiracki

Associate Professor,

Music History/Culture 

cmbabira@syr.edu

308 K Browne Hall

Profile Page

Hossein Bashiriyeh

Lecturer,

Political Science

hbashiri@maxwell.syr.edu

408 Maxwell Hall

Profile Page

  
  

Mihal Downie 250

Michal Downie

Instructor of Hebrew

mdownie@syr.edu

301 A HB Crouse Hall

Profile Page


Zachary Braiterman

Zachary J. Braiterman 

Professor, Religion

zbraiter@syr.edu

509 Hall of Languages

Profile Page

  
  

Erella Brown

Erella Brown

Part-Time Associate Professor of

Hebrew

ebrownso@syr.edu

301A HB Crouse Hall

Profile Page

Miriam Elman

Miriam Elman 

Associate Professor, Political Science

melman@maxwell.syr.edu

400G Eggers Hall

Profile Page


  
  

Carol Fadda-Conrey

Carol Fadda-Conrey 

Associate Professor, English

cfaddaco@syr.edu

411 Hall of Languages

Profile Page


Ken Frieden

Ken Frieden 

B.G. Rudolph Professor of Judaic Studies

& William P. Tolley Distinguished Teaching 

Professor in the Humanities 

Religion 

kfrieden@syr.edu

310 Tolley Humanities Building 

Profile Page

  
  

250x250-habib-rania

Rania Habib 

Associate Professor, Linguistics and 

Arabic; Arabic Program Coordinator 

rhabib@syr.edu 

325 HB Crouse Hall 

Profile Page


hammond-timur-250x250

Timur Hammond 

Assistant Professor, Geography and the Environment 

twhammon@maxwell.syr.edu

144C Eggers Hall 

 Website

  
  

209_henderson-susan_5x7

Susan Henderson 

Professor, School of Architecture 

srhender@syr.edu 

326B Slocum 

Website


humsi-violette-250x250 (1)

Violette F. Humsi 

Instructor of French 

vfhumsi@maxwell.syr.edu 

316c HB Crouse Hall

Profile Page


  
  


Jeanette S. Jouili

Associate Professor of Religion

jsjouili@syr.edu

512 Hall of Languages

Profile Page

 

Amy Kallander

Amy Aisen Kallander 

Associate Professor, History 

akalland@maxwell.syr.edu 

306 Maxwell Hall 

Website


  
  

kassam-tazim-250x250

Tazim R. Kassam 

Associate Professor, Religion 

tkassam@syr.edu 

501 Hall of Languages 

Profile Page


khalil-osamah-250x250

Osama Khalil 

Associate Professor, History 

ofkhalil@maxwell.syr.edu

539 Eggers Hall 

Website


  
  

kiewe-amos-250x250

Amos Kiewe 

Department of Communication and 

Rhetorical Studies Professor 

akiewe@syr.edu 

107 Sims Hall 

Website



koch-natalie-250x250

Natalie Koch

Associate Professor, Geography and the Environment

nkoch@maxwell.syr.edu 

144B Eggers Hall 

Website

  
  

kornfilt-jaklin-250x250

Jaklin Kornfilt 

Professor of Linguistics and Director of 

the Linguistics Studies Program as well as

Director of Computational Linguistics

kornfilt@syr.edu 

305 HB Crouse Hall 

Profile Page


olwan-dana-250x250

Dana M. Olwan 

Assistant Professor and Director of 

Undergraduate Studies 

Women's and Gender Studies 

dmolwan@syr.edu 

311 Sims Hall

Profile Page

  
  

phillips-eva-250x250

Eva Phillips 

Instructor of Arabic 

evphilli@syr.edu 

216 HB Crouse Hall 

Profile Page


richardson-250x250

Kara Richardson 

Undergraduate Director and Associate 

Professor 

Philosophy 

kricha03@syr.edu 

537 Hall of Languages 

Profile Page

  
  

rubinstein-robert-250x250

Robert Rubinstein 

Distinguished Professor of Anthropology 

ar@syr.edu 

405A Maxwell Hall 

Website


watts-james-250x250

James W. Watts 

Professor, Religion 

jwwatts@syr.edu 

501 Hall of Languages 

Profile Page


  
  


Yael Zeira

Associate Professor, Political Science

yzeira@maxwell.syr.edu

526 Eggers Hall

Profile Page



Corri Zoli 

INSCT Director of Research/Research 

Assistant Professor 

cbzoli@syr.edu 

300F Dineen Hall 

Website