The Bharati Memorial Award is given in honor of Prof. Agehananda Bharati, world-renowned expert in the cultural anthropology of South Asia who taught at Maxwell for over 30 years.

  • Ipshita Ghosh, Anthropology, “Making Good(s): Health, Care, Entrepreneurship”
  • Sreyoshi Dey, Communications, “Queer Space on Facebook: Exploring the Role of Facebook Groups for the LGBTQ Community in India”
  • Hamza Khalil, Anthropology, “Roads of Identity: Citizenship and Infrastructure in Times Changing Global Connectivity”
  • Deepali Kulkarni, Religion, “Gender Ideologies of Gujarat at the Intersections of Class, Caste, and Geography in Hindu Communities”