Skip to Main Content
Maxwell School
Maxwell / News & Events

Meredith Professor Jackie Orr, teaching awardees to be honored

Jackie OrrJackie Orr, associate professor of sociology in the Maxwell School of Citizenship and Public Affairs, and Sanjay Chhablani, professor of law in the College of Law will be named as the 2017-20 Laura J. and L. Douglas Meredith Professors of Teaching Excellence at a ceremony on Thursday, April 20, at 4 p.m. in the Goldstein Alumni and Faculty Center.

In addition, six non-tenured faculty members will be given Meredith Teaching Recognition Awards, including two from the Maxwell School—Jeff Gonda and Jonnell Robinson—along with Todd Berger and Cora True-Frost of the College of Law; Paul Prescott of the College of Arts and Sciences; and Shikha Nangia of the College of Engineering and Computer Science. Thomas Perreault, professor of geography at the Maxwell School, will be named as the 2017 United Methodist Scholar/Teacher of the Year, and Ravi Dharwadkar, professor of management at the Whitman School, will receive the Meredith Medallion. The Medallion is presented to a Meredith Professor at the end of his or her third year of active status.

The Laura J. and L. Douglas Meredith Professorships were created in 1995—funded by a substantial bequest from the estate of L. Douglas Meredith, A&S ‘26— to recognize and reward outstanding teaching at the University. The Teaching Recognition Awards program was established in 2001 through an expansion of the Laura J. and L. Douglas Meredith Professorship Program, to recognize excellence in teaching by non-tenured faculty and adjunct and part-time instructors.

The awards program is open to all, and a reception will follow at the conclusion of the program.