Award honors alumna and former faculty member Rosemary O’Leary

OLeary_YatesThe International Research Society for Public Management (IRSPM) has created an award honoring alumna and former Maxwell faculty member Rosemary O’Leary ‘88 PhD (PA). The award recognizes the best article published in a public administration journal on the topic of women and public administration.

The inaugural recipient of the Rosemary O’Leary Prize on Women in Public Administration is Sophie Yates, a postdoctoral researcher at UNSW Canberra in Australia. Yates received the prize for her article Power, Process, Plumbing: Big G and Small g Gender in Victoria's Family Violence Policy Subsystem, which was published in the Australian Journal of Public Administration in 2018.

The prize honors O’Leary for helping found the Academic Women in Public Administration network and for receiving the IRSPM’s Routledge Award for Outstanding Contributions to Public Management Research, a lifetime achievement award in public administration.

O’Leary, now the Edwin O. Stene Distinguished Professor and the director of the School of Public Affairs and Administration at the University of Kansas, completed her 22-year tenure on Maxwell’s faculty, in 2012, as the Phanstiel Distinguished Chair in Strategic Management. During her time at Maxwell, O’Leary also received the Daniel Patrick Moynihan Award, the Professor of the Year award from the Department of Public Administration and International Affairs, and the Chancellor’s Citation for Exceptional Academic Achievement from the University. Her research focuses on how collaboration can serve as a leadership and management strategy.

For more on the presentation of the inaugural O’Leary prize, visit the webpage at UNSW.