Maxwell Announces New Chair Appointments for Public Administration and International Affairs, Economics, and Citizenship and Civic Engagement

The Maxwell School at Syracuse University is pleased to announce the following Chair appointments:

Bifulco,-RobertRobert Bifulco, Associate Dean and Chair, Public Administration and International Affairs

Robert Bifulco has been named Associate Dean and Chair of Public Administration and International Affairs. He succeeds David M. Van Slyke, who in June was named Dean of the Maxwell School.

Professor Bifulco is an accomplished teacher and scholar, holding appointments as Senior Research Associate with the Center for Policy Research (CPR) and Education Finance and Accountability Program (EFAP) at the Maxwell School, and as co-editor of the Journal of Policy Analysis and Management. His research focuses on the evaluation of educational policies and programs, with specific interests in the interactions of school segregation, school policies, and student outcomes. His articles have appeared in the Journal of Policy Analysis andManagement, Education Finance and Policy, and the American Economic Journal-Economic Policy among others. His most recent article “The Effects of School Desegregation on Teenage Fertility” (with Leonard Lopoo and Sun Jung Oh) is forthcoming in Educational Evaluation and Policy Analysis. Professor Bifulco earned his MPA (1994) and PhD (2001) from the Maxwell School. 

Bertini, CatherineCatherine Bertini, Vice Chair, Public Administration and International Affairs

Catherine Ann Bertini has been selected as the Vice Chair for the Public Administration and International Affairs department. Professor Bertini joined the faculty of the Maxwell School of Citizenship and Public Affairs in 2005. In addition to teaching, she has had a long, distinguished career as a leader in international organization management and reform, humanitarian relief, nutrition policy, food security, and gender. She served for two years as a senior fellow at the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation (2007-2009), and prior to that served as United Nations Under Secretary-General for Management (2003 - 2005), as Executive Director of the UN World Food Program (1992 - 2002), and as Assistant Secretary for Food and Consumer Services at USDA (1989-92).  Professor Bertini was named the 2003 World Food Prize Laureate for her leadership at WFP in ending famine and decreasing hunger.

Engelhardt,-GaryGary Engelhardt, Chair, Economics

Gary Engelhardt has been named Chair of the Economics department. He is the Melvin A. Eggers Faculty Scholar and is a Faculty Associate in the Syracuse University Aging Studies Institute since 2011, and has been a member of the Maxwell faculty since 1999. Professor Engelhardt is currently on the editorial board of the Journal of Pension Economics and Finance and serves as a research associate for Boston College’s Center for Retirement Research. His forthcoming article “The Impact of Employment on Parental Co-Residence” (with Michael D. Eriksen and Nadia Greehalgh-Stanley) will appear in Real Estate Economics. Professor Engelhardt earned his PhD in economics at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

Mosher,-AnneAnne Mosher, Chair, Citizenship and Civic Engagement

Anne Mosher has been named Chair of the Maxwell Citizenship and Civic Engagement Program (CCE).  This interdisciplinary undergraduate program blends social science action research, community collaboration, and civic leadership, to create a nationally unique opportunity for students to double-major in CCE and another policy-relevant field at Syracuse University.  A member of the Maxwell geography faculty since 1995, Mosher is also a senior research fellow in Maxwell’s Moynihan Institute of Global Affairs who studies urban infrastructure, crisis and disaster management, and user-generated geographic social media content.  During 2015-17 she is also one of 30 New York Public Scholars that is facilitating community dialogue on behalf of the New York Council for the Humanities.  Mosher holds a PhD in geography from The Pennsylvania State University.

“I appreciate and am delighted to see these four distinguished faculty assume leadership roles at Maxwell, and, in doing so, model the type of citizenship behavior that is deeply valued in our teaching, research and service,” said David M. Van Slyke, Dean of the Maxwell School. “Their dedication to helping students develop the knowledge and skills to make a positive impact in the community and the world is at the heart of the School's commitment to educating the next generation of leaders.” 08/09/16