Maxwell School names inaugural Tenth Decade Faculty Scholars

New award recognizes excellence in citizenship education by current faculty members

Faculty-Scholars2.jpgDean James B. Steinberg today announced the creation of a new faculty award, the Maxwell School Tenth Decade Faculty Scholar, to recognize and encourage excellence in citizenship teaching, research, and public engagement at Syracuse University’s Maxwell School. 

Three current Maxwell School professors have been named inaugural Tenth Decade Scholars: Carol Faulkner (History), Andrew S. London (Sociology), and Tina Nabatchi (Public Administration and International Affairs).  The award will provide each recipient $5,000 per year for three years to support their work. 

The Tenth Decade Faculty Scholar award program has been created as part of the larger Tenth Decade Project — a collection of programs, projects, and other initiatives developed to foster innovation and collaboration in the years leading up to the School’s 2024 centennial. The Tenth Decade Project emphasizes Maxwell’s legacy of interdisciplinary citizenship education and scholarship, and a commitment to sustain that tradition of excellence into Maxwell’s second century. 

“The Tenth Decade Project is already funding innovative interdisciplinary faculty proposals that focus on Maxwell’s historic focus on citizenship,” said Dean Steinberg.  “These new grants, provided by members of the Maxwell School’s Advisory Board, honor and support what has always been Maxwell’s greatest strength — our unparalleled faculty.  Carol, Andrew, and Tina are excellent examples of this great tradition.”

Tenth Decade Faculty Scholars were selected based on their exemplary record of research and teaching.  Grants provided through the Tenth Decade Faculty Scholars initiative will be used to benefit the faculty members’ research and curricular development.  Current funding has allowed for three awards.  It is anticipated that additional philanthropic support in the months and years ahead could provide new awards that will recognize additional Maxwell faculty.

Each of the inaugural appointees expressed appreciation for the Maxwell School’s citizenship traditions and their opportunity, now enhanced, to contribute to the School’s future.

CarolFaulkner_L.jpg“Maxwell's focus on citizenship has only increased in national and global importance in the 21st century,” said Carol Faulkner, “and I'm honored to be able to engage these profound questions with our talented faculty and students.  I am eager to see how these conversations evolve over the next 10 years.”

Faulkner's research focuses on the history of American social movements, particularly women's social and political activism in the nineteenth century. Her books include Women's Radical Reconstruction: The Freedmen's Aid Movement (University of Pennsylvania Press, 2004), Lucretia Mott's Heresy: Abolition and Women's Rights in Nineteenth-Century America (University of Pennsylvania Press, 2011), and Women in America to 1880: A Documentary Reader (Wiley-Blackwell, 2011). A professor of history, she is currently serving as the interim chair of the undergraduate Maxwell Program in Citizenship and Civic Engagement and teaching its core seminar on Justice, Ethics, and Citizenship. Faulkner holds a PhD from Binghamton University.

London1.jpgAndrew S. London is a professor of sociology whose research focuses on the health, care, and well-being of the stigmatized and vulnerable, including persons living with HIV/AIDS; caregivers; welfare-reliant and working poor women and their children; lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender persons; persons with disabilities; the formerly incarcerated; older adults; and veterans.  He is a former chair and the current graduate director of Maxwell’s Department of Sociology. In 2015, he received Syracuse University’s Excellence in Graduate Education Faculty Recognition Award. He was a National Institute of Mental Health Postdoctoral Fellow (while at UCLA) and holds a PhD from the University of Pennsylvania. 

“I am honored, humbled, and grateful to be appointed as a Tenth Decade Scholar,” said London. “While receiving this award has given me pause to reflect on past accomplishments, collaborations, and the support I have received from many individuals and institutions, it has also energized my thinking about the future and what I can do to help enrich Maxwell’s tenth decade.”

“Like many,” said Tina Nabatchi, “I am enamored with the impressive history of the Maxwell School, but I am even more excited about our future. I am thrilled to have the opportunity to contribute to our future as one of the inaugural Maxwell Tenth Decade Scholars.”

Nabatchi,-Tina.jpgTina Nabatchi’s research and teaching broadly address issues of democratic governance in public administration, and specifically focus on citizen participation, collaborative governance, and conflict resolution. Nabatchi, an associate professor of public administration and international affairs, is the lead editor of Democracy in Motion: Evaluating the Practice and Impact of Deliberative Civic Engagement (Oxford University Press, 2012) and wrote two recently published books: Public Participation for 21st Century Democracy with Matt Leighninger (Jossey-Bass, 2015) and Collaborative Governance Regimes with Kirk Emerson (Georgetown University Press, 2015). She is the primary investigator on a major federal grant from the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, investigating public deliberation in health policy while also engaging average citizens in consumer-centered patient-care strategies. Nabatchi holds a PhD from Indiana University, Bloomington.