Maxwell students chosen to be 2021-22 Remembrance Scholars

Syracuse University’s Remembrance Scholar Selection Committee has chosen the 35 students who will be the 2021-22 Remembrance Scholars.

The scholarships, now in their 32nd year, were founded as a tribute to—and means of remembering—the 35 students who were killed in the Dec. 21, 1988, bombing of Pan Am Flight 103 over Lockerbie, Scotland. Those students, who were returning from a semester of study in London and Florence, were among the 270 people who perished in the bombing. The scholarships are funded through an endowment supported by gifts from alumni, friends, parents and corporations.

“The students selected as the 2021-22 Remembrance Scholars represent a diverse range of majors, interests and life experiences,” says Interim Vice Chancellor and Provost John Liu. “They will bring leadership, scholarship and service to the community, continuing the important tradition of remembrance at Syracuse University in the coming academic year.”

The following Maxwell students were among those chosen:

Ava Breitbeck, political science
Ashley Collado, policy studies
Morgan Eaton, policy studies and citizenship and civic engagement 
Dylan King, political science
Caitlyn Langille, policy studies and citizenship and civic engagement
Justin Mitchell, international relations and history
Abigail Tick, sociology and citizenship and civic engagement
David Williams, policy studies 

Read the full article via the SU News website