New Meredith Professors, teaching awardees honored

Wilcoxen, PeterPeter Wilcoxen, professor of public administration and international affairs in the Maxwell School of Citizenship and Public Affairs, and Robert Doyle, professor of chemistry in the College of Arts and Sciences, will be named as the 2016-19 Laura J. and L. Douglas Meredith Professors of Teaching Excellence at a ceremony on Thursday, April 14, at 4 p.m. in the Goldstein Alumni and Faculty Center.

In addition, seven non-tenured faculty members will be given Meredith Teaching Recognition Awards, including three from the Maxwell School—Elizabeth Ashby, Dawn Dow, and Natalie Koch—along with Patrick Berry and Kevin Morrison of the College of Arts and Sciences; Michelle Blum of the College of Engineering and Computer Science; and Kyle Miller of the School of Architecture. Tara Helfman will be named as the 2016 United Methodist Scholar/Teacher of the Year.

The Laura J. and L. Douglas Meredith Professorships were created in 1995—funded by a substantial bequest from the estate of L. Douglas Meredith, A&S ‘26— to recognize and reward outstanding teaching at the University. The Teaching Recognition Awards program was established in 2001 through an expansion of the Laura J. and L. Douglas Meredith Professorship Program, to recognize excellence in teaching by non-tenured faculty and adjunct and part-time instructors.

For more information about the 2016 recipients of the Meredith Professorships and Teaching Recognition Awards, please visit