Three Maxwell seniors receive highest University honors

University-ScholarsElizabeth McMahon, Bo Stewart, and Kristin Weeks are among the 12 graduating seniors named 2015 Syracuse University Scholars, the highest undergraduate honor that the University bestows.

The three are students in the Maxwell School, the College of Arts and Sciences, and the Renee Crown University Honors Program -- McMahon is a Policy Studies major, Stewart is a dual Economics/Political Science major, and Weeks is dual Political Science and Sociology major.

University Scholars will represent the entire graduating class at the May 10 Commencement ceremony.  On April 29, the scholars took part in a reception at the Chancellor’s residence hosted by Chancellor Kent Syverud and Dr. Ruth Chen, where they received special medallions to be worn at Commencement.

The Syracuse University Scholars Committee, a University-wide faculty committee, selected the 2015 scholars using criteria that included coursework and academic achievement, creative work, a personal statement and a faculty letter of recommendation. 04/29/15