Skip to Main Content

Connect with Us Remotely

  • Remote Contact Instructions

  • Dear Students and Families,

    As Syracuse University moves to online instruction for the remainder of the academic year, faculty, and staff will be working remotely until further notice. All of us remain committed to our students’ academic success and future outcomes.  

    The information below is meant to serve as a helpful reference for navigating communications in the weeks ahead. If you have a suggestion for improving this information, please submit it via email to maxwelldeansoffice@syr.edu.

    Thank you in advance for your patience during the transition. We are here for you!

  • Updates from Syracuse University

    Visit syracuse.edu/coronavirus for COVID-19 related updates from the University.

  • Dean's Office

  • The Dean’s Office staff is available to assist you. If you need assistance with something that isn’t addressed on this page, please contact either Bethany Walawender, Mary Pat Cornish, or Andrew London and they will answer your questions or forward them to the correct person who will answer you.

    Mary Pat Cornish, Budget Director, at mpcornis@syr.edu or 315.391.7883

    Bethany Walawender, Executive Assistant to the Dean, at bdwalawe@syr.edu or 315.283.3730

    Andrew London, Associate Dean of Administration and Finance, at anlondon@syr.edu or 315.345.1563

  • Information and Computing Technology (ICT)

    All questions regarding the use and functionality of Blackboard should be directed to help@syr.edu. 

    For Maxwell ICT service, please email service@maxwell.syr.edu. Alternatively, please call 315.443.3847 and leave your name and telephone number.

    Inquiries will be responded to as soon as possible, and within the same day.

    The unit director is Stan Ziemba. You can reach him anytime by calling 315.443.9011.

  • Libraries

    Syracuse University Libraries buildings are closed to all patrons until further notice. The Libraries’ staff will remain available to support students, faculty, and staff as they transition to online learning and teaching. Libraries’ staff are working remotely and available to help you identify electronic resources. The Social Sciences Librarian for the Maxwell School is Winn Wasson wwwasson@syr.edu. Please check the library website for updates.

  • Career Advising

    • Maxwell Graduate Students: The Palmer Career Center is available to support your needs. For general inquiries or to schedule an appointment, please email Lauren Meyer at careers@maxwell.syr.edu. She’ll be checking email daily, routing inquiries to the appropriate staff member, and scheduling appointments. Please visit the office website for more information.

  • Academic Programs/Academic Advising

    For questions about academic programs and academic advising, undergraduate and graduate students are encouraged to contact the professional staff and faculty advisors in their department or center. Email is generally preferred.

    Please anticipate that emails are checked regularly during normal business hours and will receive a response within one business day. Messages left on department telephones will be converted to email and forwarded to the appropriate faculty or staff member for follow up.

    If you do not receive a response within one business day, please contact the department chair or director. If you are still having trouble making contact, please contact the Dean’s Office.

  • Anthropology

  • Staff: JoAnn Rhoades at jlrhoade@syr.edu; Jackie Wells at jwells01@syr.edu or 315.443.4749

    Undergraduate Advising: Azra Hromadžić at ahromadz@syr.edu

    Chair: Doug Armstrong at dvarmstr@syr.edu or 315.242.0138

  • Citizenship and Civic Engagement

  • Staff: Amy Schmidt at citizenship@maxwell.syr.edu or 315.443.1602

    Chair: Anne Mosher at amosher@syr.edu

  • Economics

  • Staff: Emily O’Brien at eobrie08@syr.edu or 315.443.3843

    Chair: Stuart Rosenthal at ssrosent@syr.edu

  • Executive Education

  • Staff: Susan Oot at saoot@syr.edu or 315.952.7112

    Advising: Margaret Lane at melane02@syr.edu

    Director: Steven Lux at sjlux@syr.edu or 315.317.2770

  • Geography

  • Chair (General Inquiries): Tom Perrault at taperrea@syr.edu or 315.443.2607

    Undergraduate Advising (Geography major/minor, Environment & Society minor): Peng Gao at pegao@syr.edu

    Environment, Sustainability & Policy ILM: Shere Abbott at sbabbott@syr.edu

  • History

  • Staff: Christina Cleason at cmcleaso@syr.edu or 315.443.2210

    Undergraduate Director: Junko Takeda at jtakeda@syr.edu

    Chair: Norman Kutcher at nakutcher@syr.edu or 315.443.2594

  • International Relations

  • International Relations is providing advising online. Please schedule an appointment through Orange Success as you ordinarily would. Detailed instructions for participating in an online session are available on the department website.

    Staff:  IR-Advisor@maxwell.syr.edu or 315.443.2306

    Chair: Matt Cleary at macleary@syr.edu

  • MAX Courses

  • Staff: Karima Akins-Rattigan at kakins@syr.edu or 315.443.3061

    Chair: Mark Rupert at merupert@syr.edu

  • Policy Studies

  • Chair: William Coplin at wdcoplin@syr.edu

  • Political Science

  • Staff/general inquiries: polsci@maxwell.syr.edu or 315.443.2416

    Advising: Candy Brooks at cbrook01@syr.edu

    Chair: Brian Taylor at bdtaylor@syr.edu

  • Public Administration and International Affairs

  • Staff/general inquiries: paia@syr.edu

    Advising: Josh Kennedy at jjkenn01@syr.edu

    Enrollment/admissions: enrollment@maxwell.syr.edu

  • Social Science

  • Staff: Tammy Salisbury at mtsalisb@syr.edu

    Chair: Renée de Nevers at denevers@syr.edu or 315.443.7093

  • Sociology

  • Staff: Janet Coria at jmcoria@syr.edu or 315.443.2347; or Tara Slater at tdslater@syr.edu  or 315.443.2346

    Chair: Prema Kurien at pkurien@syr.edu

  • Centers and Institutes

  • Aging Studies Institute

  • Staff: Katherine Hills at asi@syr.edu or 315.443.2703

  • Autonomous Systems Policy Institute (ASPI)

  • Director: Jamie Winders at jwinders@syr.edu or 315.443.5994

  • Campbell Public Affairs Institute

  • Staff: Kelley Coleman at kgcolema@syr.edu or 315.443.9707

  • Center for Environmental Policy and Administration (CEPA)

  • Director: Peter Wilcoxen at wilcoxen@syr.edu or 315.443.0268

  • Center for Policy Research

  • Staff: Peg Austin at mmaustin@syr.edu or 315.443.9070

  • Lerner Center for Public Health Promotion

  • For general inquiries: lerner@syr.edu or 315.443.2692

    Budget and purchasing: Alexandra Punch at aepunch@syr.edu

  • Moynihan Institute of Global Affairs

  • Main Desk: moynihan@maxwell.syr.edu or 315.443.4022

    Associate Director: Juanita Horan at jmhoran@syr.edu or 315.443.4927 (Budget, Operations, Staff, Payroll, Grants Admin)

    Director: Margaret Hermann at mgherman@syr.edu

    For questions about any of Moynihan’s many regional centers or projects (including QDR and CQMI), you can find contact information on the Moynihan Institute website

  • PARCC

  • Staff: Roxanne Tupper at rmtupper@syr.edu or 315.443.2367

    Advising: Catherine Gerard at cgerard@syr.edu or 315.430.7555