Recent News 

Jennifer Karas Montez was awarded The Chancellor's Citation for Academic Achievement.

Jackie Orr was named one of the 2017-2020 Laura J. and L. Douglas Meredith Professors of Teaching Excellence.

Madonna Harrington Meyer has been awarded the Matilda White Riley Distinguished Scholar Award by the American Sociological Association.

Andrew London has been named one of the inaugural Scholars for the Maxwell School Tenth Decade Faculty Scholar Award. The Tenth Decade Faculty Scholar award program has been created as part of the larger Tenth Decade Project — a collection of programs, projects, and other initiatives developed to foster innovation and collaboration in the years leading up to the School’s 2024 centennial. The award will provide each recipient $5,000 per year for three years to support their work.

Prema Kurien received a $200,000 grant from the National Science Foundation for her project, "The Political Incorporation of Religious Minorities in Canada and the United States" and has also been elected to the ASA IM Section Council.

Andrew London has been elected to a 3 year term as a Council Member of the ASA Section on Aging and the Life Course.

Rebecca Schewe, along with her colleagues, has been awarded a $250,000 grant under the National Marine Fisheries Service's Saltonstall-Kennedy Grant Program for their project "Communication Avenues for Vietnamese-American Fishing Communities on the Gulf of Mexico with Coastal Resource Agencies."

Yingyi Ma has been named the Director of the Asian American Studies Program at SU.  She has also been elected to the Maxwell Faculty Council and will serve from 2015-2018.

Andrew London received the Excellence in Graduate Education Faculty Recognition Award from the Graduate School.

Rebecca Schewe was elected as the Nomination Chair for the Sociological Society for two years.

Merril Silverstein's proposed project, "Religious Transitions, Transmissions, and Trajectories Among Baby Boomers and their Families" has been awarded a $1.49 million grant from the John Templeton Foundation for a three year study.

Janet Wilmoth has been elected to be the secretary/treasurer for the Behavioral and Social Sciences Section of Gerontological Society of America.

Merril Silverstein was elected Vice President of the Research Committee on Aging of the International Sociological Association.

Andrew London was elected to serve a two-year term as Chair of the Youth, Aging, and the Life Couse Division of the Society for the Study of Social Problem.

Madonna Harrington Meyer received the Gerontological Society of America’s Richard Kalish Book Award for Grandmothers at Work: Juggling Families and Jobs.

Prema Kurien received the Award for Contribution to the Field, from the Section on Asia and Asian America within the American Sociological Association.

Yingyi Ma has been named one of the Maxwell School’s inaugural O’Hanley Scholars, on the basis of outstanding teaching and scholarship.