Faculty & Staff

Students in the Social Science Doctoral Program work with faculty members from throughout the various Academic Departments and Professional Programs in the Maxwell School of Syracuse University, as well as social scientists in other units on campus. Unlike a department, the Program does not itself have faculty.

The Chair of the Social Science Program is a senior member of the Maxwell faculty appointed by the Dean. The present chair is Andrew London ( A professor in the Department of Sociology, his primary interests are in medical sociology; demography; aging and the life course; families; carework; veterans, LGBT/sexuality studies. The chair oversees the administration of the program and typically serves as academic advisor to first year students prior to their choosing their Advisory Committee.


Andrew London



Tammy Salisbury The Program Administrator is Tammy Salisbury. She should be contacted for general information about the program and for help in the application process. Her office is in Maxwell Hall 413, and she can be reached at 315-443-2275 or at (