Peter Wilcoxen

Professor, Public Administration and International Affairs

Peter Wilcoxen

Contact Information

426 Eggers Hall
(315) 443-0268
Office Hours:
Monday & Wednesday 10:00-11:30

Staff Support
Laura Walsh
(315) 443-9929

Curriculum Vitae
Peter Wilcoxen's CV

Laura J. and L. Douglas Meredith Professor for Teaching Excellence
Director, Center for Environmental Policy and Administration
Senior Research Associate, Center for Policy Research


Ph.D., Harvard University, 1989


Natural resource and environmental economics

Personal Website


Spring 2018

PAI 723  Economics for Public Decisions, MoWe 8:00-9:20, CH 101

PAI 730 Problems in Public Administration, Tu 2:00-4:45

PAI 770 Climate Change: Science, Technology and Policy, Th 2:00-4:30, 350 Dineen 

PHY 398 Junior seminar in Energy and its Impacts, Th 12:30-1:50, 203 Physics

MAX 401 Civic Engagement Action Plan Workshop,  Fr 9:30-12:15, Maxwell 315



Peter Wilcoxen is a Professor of Public Administration and International Affairs, a Laura J. and L. Douglas Meredith Professor for Teaching Excellence. He also serves as Director of the Maxwell School's Center for Environmental Policy and Administration. Pete’s principal area of study is the effect of environmental and energy policies on economic growth, international trade, and the performance of individual industries. He has published numerous articles and co-authored two books: one on the design of an international policy to control climate change, and one on the design and construction of large-scale economic models. Since 1995, he has served as a non-resident senior fellow at the Brookings Institution. Pete received his Ph.D. in economics from Harvard in 1989.  Full Biography


Selected Papers

Research Interests

Environmental Economics, Computable General Equilibrium

Research Grants and Awards

"Distributed Energy Markets," National Science Foundation. August 2016-July 2018.