Maxwell Advisory Board adds four members

Four new members have been named to the Maxwell School Advisory Board. They are Michael G. Fox ’95 BA (Soc) , Nancy Jacobson ’94 BA (PSc) , Brian White ’02 MPA, and Debra Whitman ’97 PhD (Econ) . In addition, Molly Broad ’62 BA (Econ) , a long-time member of the Board, has been added to its list of honorary members.

The Maxwell School Advisory Board is composed of accomplished, distinguished members of the world of business, government, law, education, and beyond — many of whom are also Maxwell graduates. They provide advice and counsel to the dean and other school leaders, helping to assure that Maxwell grows and adapts in ways that are tactically sound and forward-looking.


Michael G. Fox is the chief marketing officer for Culture Trip, a travel, media, and entertainment startup. With more than 20 years of experience in business marketing, Fox has worked for numerous major corporations, including Sony, Snapple, and CNN.

In 2009, Fox joined Facebook, where he helped grow the company’s annual advertising business from a few hundred million dollars to more than $12 billion in less than five years. Since leaving Facebook in 2014, Fox has worked on early-stage startups as a chief marketing officer, including Culture Trip.


In 2010, Nancy Jacobson founded No Labels, a non-profit organization that works to address partisan dysfunction in politics. As chief executive officer for No Labels, Jacobson has grown the organization’s presence inside and outside of Washington.

Its grassroots activities have engaged more than one million people across the country, and two of its policy proposals – No Budget, No Pay, and Healthcare for Heroes – have already been signed into law. Prior to No Labels, Jacobson spent 30 years as a political advisor, national business network connector, and fundraiser.


Brian White, who also holds a bachelor’s degree in public relations from Syracuse University, leads the global security practice for DBO partners, a leading boutique investment bank.

He also serves as a senior associate at the Center for Strategic and International Studies, where he was a member of the Commission of Cybersecurity. Prior to DBO, White was vice president at Forcepoint, COO and a member of the board at RedOwl, and a partner at Chertoff Group. White is a frequent speaker on cybersecurity issues, which includes regular appearances on the Bloomberg Technology television show.


As the executive vice president and chief public policy officer for AARP, Debra Whitman leads policy development, analysis, and research that advances and supports the interests of individuals age 50-plus and their families.

Prior to AARP, Whitman served as a staff director for the U.S. Senate Special Committee on Aging, a specialist in the economics of aging for the Congressional Research Service, and a Brookings LEGIS Fellow to the U.S. Senate Committee on Health, Education, Labor, and Pensions. Whitman serves on several boards, including the National Advisory Council on Aging, the Columbia University Mailman School of Public Health, the National Coalition on Health Care, and the Pension Rights Center.


A leading spokesperson for American higher education, Molly Broad became the 12th president of the American Council on Education (ACE) in 2008 — the first woman to lead the organization, which was founded in 1918. Prior to ACE, Broad served as president for the University of North Carolina, where she grew minority enrollments through the Focused Growth Initiative and created a need-based financial aid program for in-state undergraduates.

Broad also served as the chief operating officer for the California State University system, and as the chief executive officer for Arizona’s three-campus university system. She’s written and spoken extensively on higher education, K-16 partnerships, information technology, globalization, and biotechnology, and serves on numerous boards across the country.

The Advisory Board’s next semi-annual meeting will be held this April in Washington, D.C.

The Maxwell School website includes a full list of Advisory Board members. 02/25/19