Hope Collins (MES Major-Distinction, 2011) and graduate students Rebecca Moody (Ph.D. candidate, Religion) and Paul Worden (MES Advanced Certificate and Mas- ter’s candidate in Linguistics) received Critical Language Scholarships for Arabic from the Council of American Overseas Research Centers and the U.S. Department of State’s Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs. They respectively spent Summer 2011 in Egypt, Morocco, and Jordan. Selina Howe Carter (M.A. in Public Administration, International Relations and Economics) received a 2011 National Security Education Program (NSEP) David L. Boren Fellowship to study at Ankara University for 12 months starting in January 2012 for a project entitled “Distributional Outcomes of Economic Liberalization in Turkey.” Anna Koulouris (MES Major, 2010) received a scholarship for a year-long study of Arabic at Qatar University beginning in Fall 2011. Sarah Marusek (MES Advanced Certificate and doctoral candidate in Social Science) received a fellowship from the Institute of International Education that al- lows her to continue doing her dissertation field work in Lebanon until Summer 2012. Mike Makara (MES Advanced Certificate and doctoral candidate in Political Science) received a Fulbright scholarship to conduct dissertation research in Jordan. Mike also received a second fellowship from the American Center of Oriental Research in Amman.

In addition, McGhee Cost (MES Major, 2011) and Emy Matesan (MES Advanced Certificate and doctoral candidate in Political Science) respectively received the undergradu- ate and graduate “Hasan Abdullah Yabroudi Student Paper Awards” in an on-campus cer- emony held on April 28, 2011.

Graduate Students Receive the MES Certificate of Advanced Study

During the 2010-11 academic year, the following twelve students graduated having earned a Certificate of Advanced Study in Middle Eastern Affairs:
Gina Barbone, Aniseh Bassiri Tabrizi, Eric Inafuku, Fethi Keles, Jared Keyel, Sabithulla Khan, Beau Miller, Mahassen Mohamed Ali, Christopher Paventy, Bri- an Riedy, Joseph Robertson, and Sayeedmahdee Sanglakhee.