Skip to content

University Announces 2022-23 Remembrance Scholars

May 2, 2022

SU News

Syracuse University’s Remembrance Scholar Selection Committee has chosen the 35 students who will be the 2022-23 Remembrance Scholars.

The scholarships, now in their 33rd year, were founded as a tribute to—and means of remembering—the 35 students who were killed in the Dec. 21, 1988, bombing of Pan Am Flight 103 over Lockerbie, Scotland. Those students, who were returning from a semester of study in London and Florence, were among the 270 people who perished in the bombing. The scholarships are funded through an endowment supported by gifts from alumni, friends, parents and corporations.

Significant support for the Remembrance Scholarships has been provided by Jean Thompson ’66 and Syracuse University Life Trustee Richard L. Thompson G’67 in memory of Jean Taylor Phelan Terry ’43 and John F. Phelan, Jean Thompson’s parents; by Board of Trustees Chairman Emeritus Steven Barnes ’82 and Deborah Barnes; and by the Fred L. Emerson Foundation.

Remembrance Scholars are chosen in their junior year through a rigorous, competitive process. Applicants submitted an essay and a reflective response in multimedia, artistic, musical or written format as part of a comprehensive application, and finalists were interviewed by members of the selection committee, composed of University faculty, staff and current Remembrance Scholars. The $5,000 scholarships are awarded on the basis of scholarship, leadership and service to the community.

The following Maxwell students were among those chosen:

  • David Barbier Jr., international relations
  • Olivia Budelmann; environment, sustainability and policy
  • Emma Dahmen, economics and citizenship and civic engagement
  • Cori Dill, political science
  • Dara Drake, policy studies
  • Fabryce Fetus, policy studies
  • Karina Freeland, policy studies
  • Kinley Gaudette, policy studies
  • Riya Gupta, policy studies
  • Jaime Heath; policy studies, political science and citizenship and civic engagement
  • Sifan Hunde, international relations
  • Ivy Lin, history
  • Ofentse Mokoka, economics
  • Riley Moore, political science
  • Nadia Nelson, policy studies and political science
  • Mackenzie Quinn, political science and sociology
  • Maggie Sardino, citizenship and civic engagement
  • Aidaruus Shirwa, policy studies and economics 
  • Louis Smith, citizenship and civic engagement
  • Taylor Stover, international relations and history
  • Alesandra “Sasha” Temerte, economics

Read the full article via the SU News website.

Communications and Media Relations Office
500 Maxwell Hall