Skip to content

University Announces 2023-24 Remembrance Scholars

May 2, 2023

SU News

Syracuse University’s Remembrance Scholar Selection Committee has chosen the 35 students who will be the 2023-24 Remembrance Scholars.

The scholarships, now in their 34th year, were founded as a tribute to—and means of remembering—the students studying in London and Florence through Syracuse University who were killed in the Dec. 21, 1988, bombing of Pan Am Flight 103 over Lockerbie, Scotland. Those students were among the 270 people who perished in the bombing. The scholarships are funded through an endowment supported by gifts from alumni, friends, parents and corporations.

Significant support for the Remembrance Scholarships has been provided by Jean Thompson ’66 and Syracuse University Life Trustee Richard L. Thompson G’67 in memory of Jean Taylor Phelan Terry ’43 and John F. Phelan, Jean Thompson’s parents; by Board of Trustees Chairman Emeritus Steven Barnes ’82 and Deborah Barnes; by The Syracuse Association of Zeta Psi in memory of Alexander Lowenstein; and by the Fred L. Emerson Foundation.

Remembrance Scholars are chosen in their junior year through a competitive selection process. Applicants submitted an essay and a reflective response in multimedia, artistic, musical or written format as part of a comprehensive application. The selection committee is composed of University faculty and staff and current Remembrance Scholars. The $5,000 scholarships are awarded on the basis of scholarship, leadership and service to the community.

Additionally, two students from Lockerbie come to Syracuse each year for one year of study through the Syracuse-Lockerbie Scholarships, also in their 34th year. The scholarships are jointly funded by Syracuse University and the Lockerbie Trust. Joshua Halliday and Tristan Woolley were recently selected as the 2023-24 Lockerbie Scholars.

“The Remembrance Scholars represent the future while honoring the past, which is both a great privilege and a great responsibility,” says Vice Chancellor and Provost Gretchen Ritter. “This year’s students, who have demonstrated strong leadership skills and a commitment to service, are up to the task. As with those who were tragically lost nearly 35 years ago, we are proud that these students are members of our University community.”

The Remembrance and Lockerbie Scholars plan the Remembrance activities held at the University each year. The scholars will be recognized during a convocation in the fall.

The following Maxwell students were among those chosen:

  • Christian Bevilacqua, geography
  • Dominic Chiappone, history
  • Sophie Creager-Roberts, environmental, sustainability and policy and history
  • Guerdyna Gelin, policy studies
  • Ka’ai I, policy studies and international relations
  • Beizhou Li, political science and economics
  • Lucio Maffei, political philosophy
  • Grant Maxheimer, international relations and citizenship and civic engagement
  • Aidan O’Connell, political science
  • Hannah Skelton, political science and citizenship and civic engagement
  • Hannah Starorypinski, political science
  • Otto Sutton, political science, history and political philosophy
  • Anna Terzaghi, anthropology and international relations
  • Emily M. Weaver, anthropology
  • Xibo Xu, international relations

Read the full article via the SU News website.

By Kelly Homan Rodoski

Communications and Media Relations Office
200 Eggers Hall