Meredith Professor Perreault, teaching awardee D'Amico honored

T_Perreault and F_DAmicoTom Perreault, professor of geography in the Maxwell School of Citizenship and Public Affairs and the College of Arts and Sciences, and Michelle Kaarst-Brown, associate professor in the School of Information Studies, were named the 2018-21 Laura J. and L. Douglas Meredith Professors for Teaching Excellence at the One University Awards Ceremony on Friday, April 20, at 4 p.m. in Hendricks Chapel.

In addition, seven non-tenured faculty members received Meredith Teaching Recognition Awards, including one from Maxwell — Francine D'Amico — along with Nina Brown, Tara Kahan, Brice Nordquist, Adam Peruta, Renée Stevens and Kenneth Walsleben.

A substantial bequest from the estate of L. Douglas Meredith, a 1926 graduate of the College of Arts and Sciences, allowed for the creation of the Laura J. and L. Douglas Meredith Professorships in 1995 to recognize and reward outstanding teaching at the University. The Teaching Recognition Awards program was established in 2001 through an expansion of the Laura J. and L. Douglas Meredith Professorship Program, to recognize excellence in teaching by non-tenured faculty and adjunct and part-time instructors.

More information about the 2018 recipients of the Meredith Professorships and Teaching Recognition Awards can be found in the SU News article, "Professors Honored with Prestigious Meredith and Teaching Recognition Awards."