Skip to Main Content
Maxwell School
Maxwell / Consortium on Qualitative Research Methods

APSA's Qualitative and Multi-Method Research Section

The Organized Section on Qualitative and Multi-Method Research seeks to promote research and training focused on the several branches of methodology associated with the qualitative tradition, broadly defined. The section also strives for an integrated understanding of these diverse methods and of their relationship to other branches of methodology, including quantitative methods.


President (2017-2019) 
Melani Cammett            
Harvard University             
mcammett@g.harvard.edu

Vice-President (2017-2019) 
Henry Hale            
George Washington University 
hhale@gwu.edu

President-Elect (2017-2019) 
Jason Seawright          
Northwestern University
j-seawright@northwestern.edu

Secretary-Treasurer (2015-2018)
Colin Elman
Syracuse University
celman@syr.edu 

Newsletter Editors
Tim Buthe 
Duke University
buthe@duke.edu 

Alan M. Jacobs 
University of British Columbia
alan.jacobs@ubc.ca 

Executive Committee Members:
Michael Coppedge, University of Notre Dame (2016-2018)
Pauline Jones Luong, University of Michigan (2016--2018)
Jeb Barnes, University of Southern California (2017-2019)
Fred Schaffer, University of Massachusetts at Amherst (2017-2019)

2018 Nominating Committee Members:
Mary Gallagher (chair), University of Michigan
Tasha Fairfield, London School of Economics
Daniel Hidalgo, Massachusetts Institute of Technology