Skip to content
QMMR word collage

Qualitative and Multi-Method Research Publication

Qualitative and Multi-Method Research is a semi-annual publication devoted to the study, development, and practice of qualitative and multi-method research techniques.

Short Courses at APSA

The QMMR section sponsored four short courses listed below at APSA’s annual meeting. The courses were held on Wednesday August 30.  

  • The Logic and Best Practices of Process Tracing
  • Bayesian Reasoning for Case Studies and Comparative Research
  • Interpretive Process Tracing and Practice Tracing
  • Studying Causal Mechanisms Using In-Depth Case Studies
Student in class using tablet

Join APSA’S Qualitative and Multimethod Research Section

Members of the qualitative and multi-methods section must also be members of APSA.

If you are a member of APSA, log in to the Association website and then click the MyAPSA button in the top menu. Click on "Add or Renew a Section" on the right hand side of the page in the "APSA RESOURCES" section. Please note that graduate student members of APSA may join the section free of charge. 

If you are not yet a member of APSA, or were but your membership expired, and would like to join the Association and the qualitative and multi-method research section, please visit the APSA membership portal portal and begin.

APSA Section Leadership


Jennifer Cyr

Jennifer Cyr (2023-2025)

Universidad Torcuato di Tella

Jessica Rich Headshot

Jessica Rich (2023-2025)

Marquette University

Jeffrey Checkel headshot

Jeffrey T. Checkel (2023-2025)

European University Institute

Tasha Fairfield

Tasha Fairfield (2021-2024)

London School of Economics 

Roselyn Hsueh headshot

Roselyn Hsueh (2023-2025)

DEI Officer
Temple Univeristy

QMMR Editors

Ezequiel Gonzalez Ocantos
University of Oxford

Juan Masullo, 
University of Oxford


Executive Committee Members:

Diana Fu, University of Toronto (2022-2024)
Akshay Mangla, University of Oxford (2022-2024)
Yanilda Gonzalez, Harvard University (2023-2025)
Sara Niedzwiecki, University of California, Santa Cruz (2023-2025)

2024 Nominating Committee Members:

Leonardo Arriola, University of California, Berkeley
Domingo Morel, New York University 
Erica Simmons, University of Wisconsin
Sean Yom, Temple University, CHAIR
Sherry Zaks, University of Southern California

2024 Division Chair: 

Ben Smith, University of Florida
Adrienne LeBas, American University

Center for Qualitative and Multi-Method Inquiry
346 Eggers Hall