Skip to content

Maxwell students selected as 2018-19 Remembrance Scholars

May 7, 2018

Syracuse University’s Remembrance Scholar Selection Committee has chosen the 35 students who will be the 2018-19 Remembrance Scholars.

The scholarships were founded as a tribute to—and means of remembering—the 35 students who were killed in the Dec. 21, 1988, bombing of Pan Am Flight 103 over Lockerbie, Scotland. The students, who were returning from a semester of study in London and Florence, were among the 270 people who perished in the bombing. The scholarships are funded through an endowment supported by gifts from alumni, friends, parents and corporations.

The scholars will be recognized during a convocation in Hendricks Chapel on Friday, Nov. 2.

The following Maxwell students were among those chosen:

  • Dina Eldawy, international relations and citizenship and civic engagement
  • Grace Gugerty, anthropology
  • Arva Hassonjee, international relations and citizenship and civic engagement
  • Marcus Lane Jr., policy studies 
  • Audra Linsner, citizenship and civic engagement
  • William Massie, policy studies 
  • Kyra Meister, policy studies
  • Madeline Merwin, political philosophy
  • Abigail Neuviller, international relations and political science 
  • Dominika Peko, international relations and policy studies 
  • David Robusto, policy studies 
  • Danielle Schaf, anthropology 
  • Nathan Shearn, anthropology 
  • Julia Trainor, political science 

Read the full article, 2018-19 Remembrance Scholars Named, written by Kelly Rodoski of SU News.


Communications and Media Relations Office
200 Eggers Hall