Skip to content

In the News: Junko Takeda

Maxwell School Joins Volcker Alliance to Bring Next Generation Leadership Corps to University

The program will provide training and experiential learning for future public servants across Syracuse’s schools and colleges. 

September 7, 2023

Junko Takeda and Merril Silverstein Named Chairs at Maxwell School

Takeda is leading the citizenship and civic engagement program on an interim basis, while Silverstein has taken the helm of the Sociology Department. 

July 13, 2023

Silverstein, Takeda Receive 2023 Excellence in Graduate Education Faculty Recognition Awards

The honor is presented to faculty members who have a significant, positive influence on graduate education through their commitment to superior graduate teaching, dedication to departmental and community presence and work in research initiatives.

April 26, 2023

See related: Awards & Honors

The Life of Junko Takeda: From Undocumented Student to University History Professor

This year, Maxwell's History Department promoted its first Asian-American woman and woman of color to full-time professor.
July 18, 2022

Maxwell School Announces 2021 Faculty Promotions

The Syracuse University Board of Trustees has approved promotions for six faculty members at the Maxwell School. Two of them, Dimitar Gueorguiev and Guido Pezzarossi, were granted tenure in their promotion from assistant to associate professor.
July 16, 2021

Takeda narrates early French-Persian trade relations

Junko Takeda
January 31, 2021

See related: Trade

Historian Junko Takeda named first Daicoff Faculty Scholar

Junko Takeda, an associate professor of history at Maxwell who focuses on European and global histories, has been named the inaugural Daicoff Faculty Scholar. The five-year appointment recognizes Takeda’s contributions as a teacher and mentor, productive researcher, and engaged citizen and leader at the school.

August 30, 2019

Four Maxwell School Professors Named O’Hanley Scholars

The Maxwell School of Syracuse University is honoring four inspirational teachers and scholars as the first O’Hanley Faculty Scholars. 

March 7, 2014
Communications and Media Relations Office
200 Eggers Hall