Skip to content

Maxwell students selected as 2020-21 Remembrance Scholars

May 13, 2020

Syracuse University’s Remembrance Scholar Selection Committee has chosen the 35 students who will be the 2020-21 Remembrance Scholars.

The scholarships, now in their 31st year, were founded as a tribute to—and means of remembering—the 35 students who were killed in the Dec. 21, 1988, bombing of Pan Am Flight 103 over Lockerbie, Scotland. Those students, who were returning from a semester of study in London and Florence, were among the 270 people who perished in the bombing. The scholarships are funded through an endowment supported by gifts from alumni, friends, parents and corporations.

The Remembrance and Lockerbie Scholars plan the Remembrance activities held at the University each year. The scholars will be recognized during a convocation in the 2020-21 academic year.

The following Maxwell students were among those chosen:

  • Amelia Dome, policy studies
  • Alimat Durodola, economics and policy studies
  • Sarah Li, policy studies and economics
  • Patrick Linehan, policy studies
  • Simran Mirchandani, economics
  • Miranda Nemeth, international relations and citizenship and civic engagement 
  • SehYeon Park, policy studies
  • Andrew Seymour, sociology
  • Canab Sheekh Nuur, political science
  • D’Angelo Valdez, sociology

Read the full SU News article, "2020-21 Remembrance Scholars Announced," written by Kelly Homan Rodoski.


Communications and Media Relations Office
500 Eggers Hall