Skip to content

Lauren Ashby

Lauren Ashby

Ph.D. Student, Sociology Department

Faculty Research Collaborators:

Jonnell A. Robinson

leashby@syr.edu

Jacob Bartholomew

Jacob Bartholomew

Ph.D. Student, Sociology Department

MA, Sociology, Syracuse University, 2017
MA, Cultural Foundations of Education, Syracuse University, 2009

jbarthol@syr.edu

Roseanna Benser headshot

Roseanna Benser

Ph.D. Student, Sociology Department

Graduate Research Associate, Center for Policy Research

M.A., Sociology, Syracuse University, 2016

rjbenser@syr.edu

Erin Bisesti

Erin Bisesti

Ph.D. Student, Sociology Department

BA, Sociology, University of North Florida, 2018

embisest@syr.edu

Aaron Blasyak

Aaron Blasyak

Ph.D. Student, Sociology Department

MA, Sociology, Syracuse University, 2014
MA, Sociology, California State University Los Angeles, 2011

ajblasya@syr.edu

Portrait of Ashley Bursie

Ashley Bursie

Ph.D. Student, Sociology Department

ambursie@syr.edu

Selene Cammer-Bechtold

Selene Cammer-Bechtold

Ph.D. Student, Sociology Department

MA, Sociology, Syracuse University, 2014
BA, History and Social Studies Secondary Education, SUNY Fredonia, 2003

scammer@syr.edu

Swapnali Chavan

Swapnali Chavan

Ph.D. Student, Sociology Department

MA, Indiana University-Purdue, Sociology, 2020

schava02@syr.edu

Racheal Chubb

Racheal Chubb

Ph.D. Student, Sociology Department

MSW, Social Work, Syracuse University, 2013

BA, Sociology, SUNY Potsdam, 2009

rnchubb@syr.edu

Julene Cooney

Julene Cooney

Ph.D. Student, Sociology Department

BS, Statistics/Psychology, BYU

MS, Statistics, BYU

MA, Community & Economic Development, SUNY Empire State College

jkcooney@syr.edu

Portrait of Hayden Courtney

Hayden Courtney

Ph.D. Student, Sociology Department

rhcourtn@syr.edu

Portrait of Anna Delapaz

Anna Delapaz

Ph.D. Student, Sociology Department

acdelapa@syr.edu

Cassie Dutton

Cassie Dutton

Ph.D. Student, Sociology Department

MA, Sociology, Syracuse University, 2016
BA, Anthropology, The College of Wooster, 2012

cedutton@syr.edu

Weston H. (Trent) Fenner

Weston H. (Trent) Fenner

Ph.D. Student, Sociology Department

MA, Sociology, Syracuse University, 2015
BA, Sociology, Shippensburg University, 2008

whfenner@syr.edu

Portrait of Julia Finan

Julia Finan

Ph.D. Student, Sociology Department

BA, Psychology, Rutgers University, 2019

jfinan@syr.edu

Portrait of Elise Fjelstad

Elise Fjelstad

Ph.D. Student, Sociology Department

efjelsta@syr.edu

Iwona Franczak

Iwona Franczak

Ph.D. Student, Sociology Department

BA, Sociology, Eastern Illinois University, 2016 

MS, Sociology, Illinois State University, 2018

    ifrancza@syr.edu

    Portrait of Xiaohan Gang

    Xiaohan Gang

    Ph.D. Student, Sociology Department

    xigang@syr.edu

    Portrait of Anne Getz

    Anne Getz Eidelhoch

    Ph.D. Student, Sociology Department

    amgetz@syr.edu

    Joshua Grove headshot

    Joshua Grove

    Ph.D. Student, Sociology Department

    Graduate Research Associate, Center for Policy Research

    Graduate Research Associate, Lerner Center for Public Health Promotion and Population Health

    M.A., United Lutheran Seminary, 2000

    M.A., University at Albany, 2008

    426 Eggers Hall

    315.443.3114

    jggrove@syr.edu

    RianSimone Harris

    RianSimone Harris

    Ph.D. Student, Sociology Department

    BA, Sociology, Point Loma Nazarine University, 2019

    roharris@syr.edu

    Portrait of Tori-Ann Haywood

    Tori-Ann Haywood

    Ph.D. Student, Sociology Department

    tchaywoo@syr.edu

    Shanel Khaliq headshot

    Shanel Khaliq

    Ph.D. Student, Sociology Department

    Graduate Research Associate, South Asia Center

    Graduate Research Associate, Center for Policy Research

    M.A., University of British Columbia, 2015

    426 Eggers Hall

    315.443.3114

    skhaliq@syr.edu

    Jeung Hyun Kim

    Jeung Hyun Kim

    Ph.D. Student, Sociology Department

    MA, Philosophy, University of Cambridge, 2013
    BA, Political Science, College of Social Science, 2011

    jkim210@syr,.edu

    Zeyd Koytak

    Huseyin Zeyd Koytak

    Ph.D. Student, Sociology Department

    MA, Sociology, Istanbul Sehir University, 2018

    BA, Sociology, Bogazici University, 2016

    hkoytak@syr.edu

    Sujung Crystal Lee

    Sujung (Crystal) Lee

    Ph.D. Student, Sociology Department

    BS, Sociology, University of Minnesota,Twin Cities, 2017

    315.443.3114

    slee117@syr.edu

    Katherine Mott

    Katherine Mott

    Ph.D. Student, Sociology Department

    MS, Food Studies, Syracuse University, 2019

    BS, Environmental Engineering, SUNY ESF, 2015

    klmott@syr.edu

    Mehdi Nejatbakhsh

    Mehdi Nejatbakhsh

    Ph.D. Student, Sociology Department

    MS, Urban Studies, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, 2014
    BA, Urban Planning, University of Tehran, 2010

    mnejatba@syr.edu

    Mary Pagan

    Mary Pagan

    Ph.D. Student, Sociology Department

    MA, Sociology, Syracuse University, 2016
    MS, Health Education/Exercise Science, Syracuse University, 1993

    mapagan@syr.edu

    Portrait of Zhihao Pan

    Zhihao Pan

    Ph.D. Student, Sociology Department

    zpan23@syr.edu

    Portrait of Ph.D. student (sociology) Claire Pendergrast

    Claire Pendergrast

    Ph.D. Student, Sociology Department

    MPH, University of Washington, Environmental Health, 2019

    BA, Dartmouth College, Biology, 2015

    315.443.3114

    cpenderg@syr.edu

    Sergio Saravia

    Sergio Saravia

    Ph.D. Student, Sociology Department

    BA, Sociology, Pontifical Catholic University of Peru, 2013

    MPS, Labor and Global Workers’ Rights, The Pennsylvania State University, 2020

    ssaravia@syr.edu

    Dustin Satterfield

    Dustin Satterfield

    Ph.D. Student, Sociology Department

    MA, Sociology: Inequality and Social Justice, University of Montana 2015

    BA, Sociology, University of Montana 2015

    dsatterf@syr.edu

    Winston Scott

    Winston Scott

    Ph.D. Student, Sociology Department

    BA, University of Rochester, Anthropology & African American Studies, 2019

    wscott@syr.edu

    Jenna Sikka

    Jenna Sikka

    Ph.D. Student, Sociology Department

    Graduate Research Associate, South Asia Center

    BA, Sociology - Maharaja Sayajirao University, 2005
    MA, Sociology - Syracuse University, 2013

    jasikka@syr.edu

    Shaneya Simmelkjaer headshot

    Shaneya Simmelkjaer

    Ph.D. Student, Sociology Department

    Graduate Research Associate, Center for Policy Research

    M.A., Syracuse University, 2024

    426 Eggers Hall

    315.443.3114

    snsimmel@syr.edu

    Yue Sun headshot

    Yue Sun

    Ph.D. Student, Sociology Department

    Graduate Research Associate, Center for Policy Research

    B.A., Public Administration, East China University of Science & Technology, 2015

    M.A., Sociology, Zhejiang University, 2017

    426 Eggers Hall

    315.443.3114

    ysun46@syr.edu

    Jennifer Swanson

    Jennifer Swanson

    Ph.D. Student, Sociology Department

    MA, Sociology, Syracuse University, 2008
    MEM. Resource Ecology, Duke University, 2004
    BA, American Cultural History, Northwestern University, 1990

    jlswan01@syr.edu

    Mauricio Torres

    Mauricio Torres

    Ph.D. Student, Sociology Department

    MA, Sociology, Syracuse University, 2013
    BA, Sociology and Africana Studies, Dickinson College, 2012

    mttorres@syr.edu

    Nastassia Vaitsiakhovich

    Nastassia Vaitsiakhovich

    Ph.D. Student, Sociology Department

    M.A., Sociology, Syracuse University,  2020

    M.S., Sociology, Higher School of Economics University, Moscow, Russia,  2014

    B.A., Sociology, Belarusian State University, Minsk, Belarus,  2010 

    nivaitsi@syr.edu

    Portrait of Kiara Van Brackle

    Kiara Van Brackle

    Ph.D. Student, Sociology Department

    kavanbra@syr.edu

    Jinpu Wang

    Jinpu Wang

    Ph.D. Student, Sociology Department

    M.A., Public Policy, University of Maryland, 2015

    jwang211@syr.edu

    Kelsey Wilber

    Kelsey Wilber

    Ph.D. Student, Sociology Department

    BS, Boise State University, Sociology, 2019

    kwilber@syr.edu

    Chongmin Yang

    Chongmin Yang

    Ph.D. Student, Sociology Department

    Graduate Research Associate, East Asia Program

    M.A., New York University, 2020 
    MSCR, University of Edinburgh, 2017

    cyang09@syr.edu

    Ibrahim Yanik

    Ibrahim Yanik

    Ph.D. Student, Sociology Department

    MA, Istanbul Sehir University, Sociology, 2019

    BA, Bogazici University, Sociology, 2017

    iyanik@syr.edu

    Ning Zhan

    Ning Zhan

    Ph.D. Student, Sociology Department

    Graduate Research Associate, East Asia Program

    Ph.D., Zhejiang University, 2014

    nizhan@syr.edu

    Wencheng Zhang

    Wencheng Zhang

    Ph.D. Student, Sociology Department

    MA, Sociology,  Renmin University, 2015
    BA, Sociology,  Shanghai University  2013                 

    wzhan107@syr.edu

    Portrait of Tianqi Zhou

    Tianqi Zhou

    Ph.D. Student, Sociology Department

    tzhou21@syr.edu

    Sociology Department
    302 Maxwell Hall