Skip to content

NAPA names four fellows from Maxwell School faculty

October 8, 2019

NAPA logoFour Maxwell School faculty members have been selected to join the National Academy of Public Administration as 2019 Academy Fellows.

NAPA is a congressionally chartered, nonpartisan, and nonprofit academy providing expert advice to government leaders in building and managing more effective, efficient, accountable, and transparent organizations. Fellows are selected based on their substantial scholarly contributions to the field of public administration, or significant and broadly applicable administrative experience. Inducted fellows contribute to the field of public administration by serving on NAPA boards, panels, or committees; serving on specific project panels (which conduct studies under contract with government agencies or with the support of foundations, corporations, and associations); participating in symposia and seminars; and/or providing congressional testimony.

Induction into NAPA is considered one of the leading honors for scholars in the discipline. The new fellows will join former cabinet officers, members of Congress, governors, mayors and state legislators, prominent scholars, business executives, nonprofit leaders, and public administrators as NAPA fellows.

The Maxwell School inductees — all of them professors of public administration and international affairs — are:

James BakerJames E. Baker , also a professor of law and director of Syracuse University’s Institute for National Security and Counterterrorism. A highly regarded national security lawyer and policy advisor, Baker teaches classes on national security law, emerging technologies and national security, ethics, leadership, intelligence, and the laws of war. He is the author of two books, In the Common Defense: National Security Law for Perilous Times (Cambridge University Press, 2014) and Regulating Covert Action (Yale University Press, 1992, with W. Michael Reisman).


Len BurmanLeonard Burman , Paul Volcker Chair in Behavioral Economics. Burman, who is also a fellow at the Urban Institute, specializes in federal tax policy, budget policy, tax expenditures, the individual alternative minimum tax, and the changing role of taxation in social policy. He is the author of Taxes in America: What Everyone Needs to Know (Oxford University Press, 2012, with Joel Slemrod) and The Labyrinth of Capital Gains Tax Policy: A Guide for the Perplexed (Brookings Institution Press, 1999), and co-editor of several additional books.


Len LopooLeonard Lopoo , Maxwell Advisory Board Professor of Public Policy and director of Maxwell’s Center for Policy Research and the Maxwell X Lab. Lopoo’s interests primarily involve the family: fertility, marriage, maternal employment, and the social welfare policies designed to assist the low-income population. He is the recipient of numerous awards for his research and teaching, including Maxwell’s Birkhead-Burkhead Teaching Excellence Award, Excellence in Graduate Education Faculty Recognition Award, and Daniel Patrick Moynihan Award for junior faculty; and, from Syracuse University, a Meredith Teaching Recognition Award.


Wilcoxen, PeterPeter Wilcoxen , Ajello Professor in Energy and Environmental Policy and director of Maxwell’s Center for Environmental Policy and Administration. Wilcoxen’s principal area of study is the effect of environmental and energy policies on economic growth, international trade, and the performance of individual industries. He is the author of Double Dividend: Environmental Taxes and Fiscal Reform in the United States (MIT Press, 2013, with Dale W. Jorgenson, Richard J. Goettle, and Mun S. Ho), Climate Change Policy after Kyoto: Blueprint for a Realistic Approach (Brookings Institution, 2002, with Warwick J. McKibbin), and Notes and Problems in Applied General Equilibrium Analysis (North-Holland, 1992, with Peter B. Dixon, B. R. Parmenter and Alan A. Powell).

Induction of the new fellows will occur during NAPA’s fall meeting, November 7-8, in Arlington, Virginia. 


Communications and Media Relations Office
200 Eggers Hall