Skip to content

2021 One University Awards Recipients Include Several from Maxwell

May 10, 2021

SU News

One University Awards 2021Syracuse University announced its 2021 One University Awards, honoring members of the University community for their scholarship, teaching, academic achievement, leadership and service. The following Maxwell faculty, staff and students were among the honorees:

Chancellor’s Award for Public Engagement and Scholarship: Lia Chabot (economics and citizenship and civic engagement), Yusuf Abdul-Qadir ’11 B.A. (PSc)/'20 E.M.P.A./'21 E.M.I.R. Read more here. 

Chancellor’s Citation for Excellence, Outstanding Contributions to the Student Experience and University Initiatives: Candy Brooks (academic advisor and graduate coordinator, political science)

Chancellor’s Citation for Excellence, Faculty Excellence and Scholarly Distinction: Merril Silverstein (professor of sociology, Marjorie Cantor Endowed Professor in Aging)

Chancellor’s Citation for Excellence, Lifetime Achievement Award: Mark Monmonier (Distinguished Professor of Geography and the Environment)

University Scholars: Katelyn Bajorek (anthropology and history), Patrick Linehan (policy studies), Simran Mirchandani (economics). Read more here.

School and College Marshals: Lia Chabot (economics and citizen and civic engagement), Kyaira Coffin (M.P.A./M.A.I.R.), Hanna Martin (political science). Read more here.

2020-21 Remembrance Scholars: Amelia Dome (policy studies), Alimat Durodola (economics and policy studies), Sarah Li (policy studies and economics), Patrick Linehan (policy studies), Simran Mirchandani (economics), Miranda Nemeth (international relations and citizenship and civic engagement), SehYeon Park (policy studies), Andrew Seymour (sociology), Canab Sheekh Nuur (political science), D’Angelo Valdez (sociology). Read more here.

2021 Milestone Years of Service Recognition: Thomas Perreault, 20 years (geography), David Popp, 20 years (public administration and international affairs), Debbie Toole, 20 years (geography), Kelley Coleman, 25 years (Campbell Institute), Janet Coria, 25 years (sociology), Catherine Gerard, 25 years (Executive Education), Juanita Horan, 25 years (Moynihan Institute), Steve Lux, 25 years (Executive Education), Anne Mosher, 25 years (geography), Sue Fredericks, 30 years (Executive Education), Ronda Garlow, 30 years (Executive Education), Elisabeth Lasch-Quinn, 30 years (history), Harry Lambright, 55 years (public administration and international affairs). Read more here.

Class of 2020 Emeriti: Mehrzad Boroujerdi (professor emeritus of political science), Gavan Duffy (associate professor emeritus of political science), Jerry Evensky (professor emeritus of economics). Read more here.

Meredith Early Performance Award: Lamis Abdelaaty (assistant professor of political science). Read more here.

Laura J. and L. Douglas Meredith Professorship of Teaching Excellence: Tina Nabatchi (professor of public administration and international affairs, Joseph A. Strasser Endowed Professor in Public Administration), 2021-24. Read more here.

Communications and Media Relations Office
200 Eggers Hall